Katie’s Coconut Delights

These babies are GREAT and they’re mostly raw if you’d like to try them. I’m trying to loosen the strings so to speak, as the rest of this year plays out. I figure I can most definitely afford to eat something sweet a few times a week and I can keep these in the fridge or even the freezer so they’ll last awhile.

The carob chips are not raw, as they have to heat them to make them all “chippy” looking. Better would be to use raw carob powder. Carob is better than chocolate, nutritionally, you can check it out here.

Carob is not chocolate, so if you don’t think of it as chocolate, you won’t be comparing it to chocolate. Personally, I’m not a big fan of chocolate, which is odd, I know. But I forgot how much I LOVE carob. But do notice how many times I managed to use the word “chocolate” in that one paragraph. Come on people, that is impressive!

You can buy carob powder and it’ll do the trick in this recipe. I ordered some and it’s probably at home waiting for me but since I’m not at home, a trip to Fred Meyer got me a gob of Carob chips to use in a pinch.

I used a blender to make these because my food processor is where? You guessed right. At home, The blender worked fine but I had to blend things up a cup at a time and then mix it all together by hand. In a food processor it would be a snap.

Soak 1 cup of almonds overnight. Drain and then grind those bad boys up
1 cup of pitted dates, any kind
3 T. of coconut oil (It’s hard straight out of the jar so put it in a little bowl, floating in a bigger bowl full of pretty warm water.)
1 1/2 cups carob chips or about 1 c. of carob powder
1/2 c. cacao powder
2 cups of unsweetened coconut (I used both a bag from Trader Joe’s and the actual meat of a for-real coconut, which I managed to open up quite easily without hacking one of my fingers off.)
1/2 c. raw pumpkin seeds
1/2 c. honey

Grind it all up and press into an 8×8″ pan, pushing down pretty hard to pack it all in nice and tight. Let it sit in the fridge overnight or at least for a few hours, if you can wait.

That’s it. No flour, no white sugar and it tastes to-die-for. My husband likes it when I roll these into balls and coat them with more coconut. He’s a hog for coconut.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!