If it’s 2014 It Must Be Time to Post!

small pic

Hi everybody! I’m dusting things off and moving back into my blog. I’m missing connecting with wonderful people like my years-long-now friend, Renee  from Run, Laugh, Eat Pie.

It’s been a long, awful year. So, this happened:

small1Yep. In September I was soooo tired. I returned to Washington state where I found out I have not one but two cancers. I had stage 3 Large B cell Non-Hodgkins lymphoma, which sprang from Follicular Non-Hodgkins lymphoma. I was in a ton of pain and thought I had kidney stones, but…surprise! 19 large tumors, one the size of my fist.

I had 4 1/2 months of chemotherapy which ended in March and my hair is growing out now. So this is my after:

photo(201)This is 3 1/2 months of hair growth and it isn’t much, but I love it.

The large B cell Lymphoma is in remission now and considered cured unless it comes back. I’m on 2 years of maintenance therapy now for the Follicular cancer which is incurable. Thankfully it’s not a chemo drug but an antigen that directly targets lymphoma so all should go smoothly. The Follicular cancer will return, it’s just a matter of when, but sometimes it can take 2 or 10 or 25 years. Maybe I’ll die from being in a 100 car pile-up on I-5. Meh. In any case I feel great now and am moving on.

I’ve been sitting on my ass watching TV and dying for 6 months so it’s taken me a few months to get back to my old activities. But now I’m up to walking 2-6 miles every day and am even running, very very badly, but running is running. I needed a little time to obtain a few muscles first!

I’m back to happily eating a vegan diet, since a steady diet of meat and eggs and cheese very probably contributed to my cancer, which most likely came from my Crohns (Apparently it’s extremely common for cancer of the autoimmune system to follow). The Crohns is  100% in check now. Oh well. Live and learn. The live part is especially essential.

I want to start keeping up my blog again so I’ll drop back by next week and re-enter the blogging world.

I now weigh 198 which is pretty darn good. I can sometimes hardly believe I’ve kept the weight off all these years. I’ll have to go back into my own blog to see when I actually started losing weight. I don’t even remember!

 

 

 

 

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If it’s 2014 It Must Be Time to Post!

  1. jueall says:

    It is good to see you. I have thought about you different times and wondered how you were doing but I had no idea you were going through so much. It is good to hear that every day is getting better.

  2. Sally Walsh says:

    Thanks for the update. You are such an inspiration!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Katie, I have had the email alert of your posting flagged in my inbox for weeks now and am finally getting back into contact. I’m so sorry to have pushed this to the back burner. I enjoyed hearing from you and cannot say how sorry I was to hear of your health problems but ever so much more enjoyed hearing your response to it and your upbeat, “never say die” attitude. I think you can overcome anything. 🙂

    I wish I had maintained my weight as you have done. I have regained nearly all the weight I lost in my 100+ pounds success from a few years ago. But, the good news is that I am back at it again and trying hard to be successful again. I started on September 1st and have lost a quick five pounds since then. I know it is mostly water weight and the easy pounds to lose, but I’ve maintained some diligent habits since the 1st that hopefully will carry me forward (and downward!)

    Keep in touch!

Say Hi!

