2013

Wow! I honestly couldn’t even remember how to get into my blog! It’s been a long, long time.

IMG_5243

I’m really holding pretty much steady with the weight these days. Overall I’m up about 10-12 pounds which is pretty amazing after all these years. I kind of seem to hang out around 199-201 all the time. It’s pretty hard for me to gain more than 7 pounds before I pull myself back up and look at my diet.

It helps a TON that I can only eat carbs in the form of veggies, only 1/2 a piece of low sugar fruit a day if that. The MRSA I picked up loves carbs. I have to keep them very very low and then the virus stays tamped down in my system and can’t take hold. Because of the Crohns I can’t eat any grains at all anyway, not even oats, sad to say. So honestly, it’s not too hard to keep my weight down. And because I don’t eat sugar or grains the Crohns isn’t even an issue. I haven’t taken any medication at all for it in about a year and a half.

I was worried I’d drop dead due to the fact that I do eat a lot of chicken, beef, eggs and cheese with my veggies. But my blood work shows an overall big drop in my cholesterol, and all the numbers in general look super.

I got really into yoga, going to classes every single day for about 5 months. I even paid $3500 and signed up to do teacher training. But then I moved back to Albuquerque and started back to work as a Realtor again, for Coldwell Banker, and I’m so busy I simply can’t take the training this year. I cancelled my space and will try again next year.

I no longer run, just walk. I still want to get back to the running, but in New Mexico, I’m NOT going out running when it’s hot. No sir. I’m keeping running in mind for this fall when it starts to cool off. So, we’ll see.

Life is great. I just got back from our 5 acres in Deming, NM where I spent a week building sidewalks, painting the cabin and refinishing the floor and decking. I worked my butt off! It’s so peaceful and calm out there, I just adore it.

photo(171)

Jeff turns 55 this October so we’re going to spend 2 weeks out at the cabin. We think he’s going to retire one year after that and then the world opens up a bit for us. Do we want to live out at the property? Do we want to spend half a year there and half a year in an apartment or condo in Tucson? We’ve looked into it all. Time will tell.

I’m still working as an artist. It’s been almost 40 years now! I’m looking at the possibility of hitting the road, doing shows in the upcoming years.

I hope everyone is good and I’ll try to come back every once in awhile from now on!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2013

  1. Judy says:

    It is good to hear from you. It sounds like things are going well. You are certainly keeping busy. Your cabin sounds wonderful – my kind of place.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’ve had the email notification of your last blog entry tagged for a couple of months now… waiting for a good time to drop in and say hello. I’ve been so busy!

    Unfortunately, the “busy-ness” of my business has kept me from really sticking with the exercising part. And, at times the stress of it all has caused lapses in good judgment when it comes to eating healthy. As a result, I ballooned back up to 220. The last several weeks have been good, though. I’m back down to 206. My eating habits have improved greatly. I wish I could say I’m exercising more, but it has always been tough for me to stay motivated to keep up the exercise rat race.

    Anyway, it’s nice to hear from you every now and then, so please do keep posting once in a while. 🙂

Say Hi!

