Yoga and Running

Image

I’m down to 196 today, 7 pounds from my lowest weight of 189. I’m looking forward to dropping into the 170′s someday. I’m totally managing around 1400-1500 calories or so. Having a smoothie with just strawberries and lots of fresh spinach isn’t actually disgusting and I can get in lots of veggies that way too, so I’ve added that in.

I finished Week 2 of my Couch to 5K program. Woo hoo!

I am doing yoga 7 days a week and am running 2-3 days per week.  2 may be my optimum limit but we’ll see. Yoga comes first now. It’s such a life-changing exercise. I love, love, love my runs, but I get now how important it is to save my energies for that thing which will increase my life span, reduce my stress and keep me flexible. It’s a good thing.The 20-30 minute runs are a wonderful bonus and over time, if I settled into just 2 days a week, I may find I can do 45-60 minutes per run. I’m just happy to be running.

In June or July I take level 1 of the Yoga Fit training! It’s the first of 5 levels I’ll need to go through to get my 200 hour certification. I’m getting smart now; I mapped out where all of the level 1 classes are in each of the states we go to so that I don’t lose out on my classes. Thank goodness I can take them in increments because otherwise it couldn’t happen.

My goal is to teach at MS Societies, Senior Centers, Cancer Centers, Plus Sized classes or basic, beginner classes.I think that would be soooo wonderful to work with people who truly need help to improve how they move through the day or people who may be afraid to start.

I’m also planning a full-immersion class with a yoga teacher/studio in Colorado that specializes in chair yoga for Seniors, MS or other disabilities. So that will add a much needed level to my training. And then when I teach classes? Hello! I’ll be able to keep up!

Before, I was always worried about how I could possibly keep up in a yoga training class. Screw that. Now I get that it’s my money and MY mission is to teach people like me who are older, slower or disabled. I don’t HAVE to be like 20 years olds in a yoga class, or like lithe, bendy 50 year olds. I’m me. I’m happy with that realization at last.Other people need help too. I’m going to be the person who can guide people like me. There are plenty of teachers or the harder core stuff.

I’ll be back here on the blog in about 10 days or so. I leave for New Mexico soon and then will be doing the cross country move, so I won’t be settled and ready to chat until sometime after the 23rd of April.

My husband is up for a promotion at work that came on quite suddenly, we hadn’t expected it for months. It may affect our living situation AGAIN. He may end up having to work a lot of out Seattle and I can’t live here. (The MS Society is doing a study right now of why so many people from Washington state have MS. Hmm. Too little, too late. But good for them.)

So we may end up in Michigan for only 6 months and then I may move to Albuquerque and take a studio apartment there instead of living out at the property with no internet, no creature comforts, no family. I actually end up spending $400 a month on gas when I’m there. A nice studio in Albuquerque is $400 so it’s a good deal and we won’t end up losing any more $ than if I were out at the 5 acres. So if we have to move again, it will be to move me there until the renters vacate our house in Abq in 19 months. And I’ll then return back to flying to WA every 3 weeks to see my hubby.

And yes, it pissed me off seeing as how we’ve just now gotten a new plan in place. I’m very happy for my husband , he’s earned all he’s gotten at work. But I need a life too, and so I’m taking it.

I’m taking classes, I’m making plans and I have a say in where I’ll be and what I’ll do. As long as we can be together about half of each month all is good.

And honestly, I miss Albuquerque, so if it ends up going that way by the fall, that’s OK with me.

Have a great week everyone. I’ll be back soon.

Please, if you don’t already, follow me on Facebook. I always post there. And send me a note letting me know you know me from my blog or I might ruthlessly delete you when I’m doing housekeeping.

I

About Fit Living Daily

I'm a Realtor in Albuquerque, NM. I've been an artist for almost 40 years now. I've been married for almost 30 years and have two grown kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

