Michigan Days

Image

I finished this piece several weeks ago and will post it because I can’t find any pictures of Michigan to post on this new computer. I realized this morning that I haven’t been to Michigan since last May. Wow. That’s a long time. Anyway, I really like this painting. It makes me smile. It’s entitled, “Fool’s Paradise”.

We’ve been searching for an apartment in the bare minutes we have left at the end of the occasional day when Jeff gets home at a reasonable time. The one we wanted was so hideous that I’m surprised we didn’t find hookers and crack whores lounging about in the “model” apartment. Shudder. Next!

We’ve found several places we like and most of them have good fitness centers so I’d get a gym too and I’d love that when it’s snowy out-or really, really, really humid. Unfortunately, all of the apartments we are considering are 2-4 miles from our parks, so I may have to throw my bike in the truck and head to the park that way because many of the apartments don’t have nicely laid out pretty paths heading in that direction. Rather, there are busy, scary roads. I’m not a fan of being run down by drivers.

In Seattle, drivers stop if a person is even NEAR a crosswalk. To not do so would be anathema. You’d be the biggest villain in the world if you didn’t. In Michigan they just won’t stop, period. It’s terrifying. Unless there’s a stop light there, controlling the drivers, they won’t stop. You can be in the middle of an intersection and if they’re going 35 mph they just plow straight for you. A cop told us once that you’re taking your life in your hands here if you try and use the crosswalks. Nice.

Anyway, we’ll find some sort of apartment in the week we have left here. Nothing like flying by the seat of your pants, right? Let’s call it “exciting” instead of “scary”, shall we?

I’m rocking the weight loss thing. No worries there. But here’s something new. I just realized I’m fat! I know, it’s a real shock to me. Last year when I was almost to 199 I kept thinking and saying, “I look fine, I feel great, I don’t see a need to go any lower.” Because I gained some weight and am now getting close to re-visiting the olde 199, I see the bare, naked truth. I’m pretty fat. And actually it just makes me laugh. My perceptions can apparently swing wildly depending on which way I’m coming from. Now I can really see how much fat I have around my middle. I’m not talking about little cute rolls that annoy me. I mean I really see I need to lose more to be healthy. 30 maybe.

I’d say that blows my mind, but frankly, it just makes me tired to think about even fighting against it anymore. Been there, done that. I figure that in 52 weeks, give or take a few weeks, I’ll be down to 160-170 if I just keep on being consistent. So I guess I’ll do that, huh?

I don’t have any major plans anymore. Again, I’m tired of that. It’s all so BIG and DRAMATIC! Eh. I’m just keeping track of my calories and carbs and getting in some daily exercise. We’ll see what happens, right? If nothing else, at least I’ve found the catalyst to get my butt down into the 180’s or 170’s. It no longer feels like I’ll be a skinny minny if I do that. That’s a laugh. I’ll probably still be a little chubby.

The weather is lovely here. I wish I had my pickup and possessions NOW so I’m not stuck in this one place, right around this hotel. In April that will change. I’ll have to figure out how to make “Michigan Lefts” and how to drive the round and rounds without killing a few Michiganites along the way. Michiganders? Whoever they are, I hope I won’t damage any while I’m trying to figure it all out.

I’m considering giving up running. That hurts me to write that, to even think that. But I am considering it. Running really messes with Crohns and it’s just really hard for me to keep up without shaking my guts up. As I mentioned before, I very much want to start biking as well.

I’ve been walking for miles every day for months and lately am doing Leslie Sansone’s “Walk Away the Pounds-2 Mile” DVD.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

