Lots of gain, lots of loss!

Image

I’ve really been through the wringer the past few months. First, confessions: In attempting to recover from the weight gain I had when I was sick with MRSA for 2 months, I managed to get all the way up to 217 pounds!!! I can’t even tell you how hopeless I felt.

It took me 3 full weeks of just observing myself to see what the heck I was doing wrong and I was doing a LOT wrong. I tried to be nice to me and not despise my fat ass for those 3 weeks so I could start undoing the damage and get back to good habits again.

Oh, first, let me say that I’m down to 203.9 and I’ll tell you what, I am HAPPY WITH THAT!!!! I’m starting to feel like me again.

First, though I truly appreciate all vegans and vegetarians, that will never be me anymore. As much as I do love that food, it’s not good for my body. Way too many carbs, WAY too many and WAY too much gluten for my poor Crohn’s screwed up bowels. So it was a hard shift for me but I started eating meats, butter, dairy and I feel much better. Much better.

I had gotten to the point where I was basically main-lining carbs from the moment I got up until the moment I went to sleep. I was hungry all the time. ALL the time. I was having constant diarrhea as well, because everything I had seemed to involve gluten. As usual, the very thing you’re allergic to is the thing your body craves and drives you to have more and more of. That, and sugar. 

In an effort to gain control, I tried raw food, I tried the Alkaline diet, Vegan, Vegetarian. The weight kept piling on.

Finally, I just decided to begin again and start experimenting slowly, like I did when I weighed 283 pounds. I started walking. Every day I walked 3 miles or a little more. 7 days a week I walked.

I still lost little to no weight because I was eating such a high carb diet. Breads every day, 3 meals a day. Trying hard to limit my fat intake.

Now I think that’s all a load of crap. I re-watched Fat Head and re-read all of the low carb books I could get my hands on. I cut out all of the grain (for now. Maybe later I can have 1/2 c. of brown rice from time to time, my guts will let me know. They speak loudly when they don’t like something!)

I don’t know about you, everyone is different. For me, that crappy, stupid wheat and all of it’s crappy stupid bi-products is a big old mess. I had been so stuck on not eating much fat, not eating meat, not eating cheese, that I was perfectly willing to continue destroying my body with the Crohn’s and MS by filling every cell with the very thing that was hurting me so much. I found out that even eating too much fruit causes me to have serious digestive problems, and at times I was eating up to 10 pieces of fruit a day-just trying to gain control again. Sigh.

For the past 3 weeks I’ve been working at eating a healthy low-carb diet based on vegetables and proteins. For the time being I’m sticking with berries because they seem to introduce less fructose into my system and don’t bother me or my insulin levels if I have 1/2 c.-1c at a time.

For a few days I felt like someone had beat me from head to toe with a big stick as my body rolled off of the sugar and gluten I was living on. I was craving foods like a heroin addict. I’m not kidding. It was really, truly hard. After 2 days of headaches and nausea and sleeplessness and constant tears, I felt great.

I never get hungry. I’ve gone from gaining on 1700 calories a day, to losing 2 pounds a week on 2000-2500 a day. I have no longing for any food—-ever. Period. The addict switch has been turned off.

I’ve been walking for weeks now, not running. But I am getting ready to re-start the Couch to 5K program and I’ll see how that goes.

I have really big, exciting news and it sort of involves my exercise in a round-about way.

You know we have our place out in Deming, where we intend to retire. This year we got the well and electricity in, a camper, cabin and garage. We’re putting in the septic next week. (We won’t be building our small house for a few years.)

Well, we LOVE Michigan too. All of our friends are in Michigan and Seattle. Most of our close friends are in Michigan. Twice we’ve attempted to move there. Well, we’re moving in a few weeks, in the middle of April.

Two reasons: My husband mostly works there. If I keep staying out at our property in NM, we will see each other 14 weeks a year, if we take an apartment in Michigan in addition to our NM property, we can be together 42 weeks a year. Obviously that’s a no-brainer.

In being out at the NM property for 2 full months, along. By myself. Blue as can be, I realized that no way do I want to ever spend that much time away from Jeff again. We’re both like lovesick teenagers at this point. I’m not kidding. We’re utterly pathetic. He simply can’t get away to come home often because he’s required to bounce back and forth between Seattle and Michigan, almost constantly.

We finally realized we could rent an apartment in Michigan for cheaper than the plane tickets we were buying for me each month, and that his company would pay for at least half of it instead of putting him up in a hotel!

Lastly, our neighbors in NM are crack-crazy. I’m not even kidding. NOT KIDDING. We have one set of friends out there who are amazing and who have become great friends. That’s all. The rest are out of their minds. There are only about 12 homes in a 5 miles area around us. 3 of those people have committed suicide in their homes. The other 9 have moved out there because they hate people and want to be alone with their profound nut-job ideas.

Soooo, learning all of that, we have decided to split our time between 2 states that we love, Michigan and New Mexico. Also, because after 15 years of traveling, we both go stark raving mad ourselves, if we have to stay in the same old boring place more than 2 months at a time, we feel we need 2 places to bounce back between. When the weather is heinous we can pick up from one state and move onto the other.

Sad for the Detroit area, but the housing market is pretty much in the toilet. Good for us that we can pick up a house for a song. We stay around an hour away from Detroit, in lovely suburbs/country settings and that’s where we’ll look for a house. In a year maybe. And then of course we still have our Albuquerque house, which we’ve rented out for 2 years. When we try to sell it, we will most likely have to pay $60,000 just to get out of it. Some fun there, huh? But we won’t have to face that for a bit.

I know this is a really long post. But I haven’t had internet for months, (Which, let me tell you, is no picnic.) and now that I’ll be back to civilization for a long, long time, I’ll be able to update often.

I’m heading to Michigan in 2 hours to see my honey! (We are both counting the minutes.) I’ll be there for 10 days, fly back to Albuquerque where my ticket originates from, see our kids here for 1 day, then shoot to Seattle for 2 weeks to join Jeff again. After that we both fly back to Abq together, Jeff’s first time home in like 6 months. He’ll get to see the kids and we’ll then load up our truck with as much as we can carry and will drive to Michigan to move into the apartment we’ll be wrapping up there in just a few days.

I’m not quite sure what people do when they don’t have multiple places to bounce between like we do. I used to hate it with every fiber of my being. Now I’m not sure how I’d survive without the constant change.

 

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

