Exercise Changes

I forgot to link all of that long post to exercise. So I’ll do another.

The apartment that we’ve picked and hope will work, in Michigan, is just 2 1/2 miles from our favorite giant park. It’s like 16 miles wide, or some crazy amount like that. There’s a giant lake in the middle with a 6 mile loop around it and the apartment building is linked to the park by a 2 1/2 mile trail.

We are loading up our bikes and bringing them to Michigan and I’ll be able to bike to the park, then either bike around the lake and back home again (11 miles) or bike there, lock up my bike and walk the 6 miles or run it. The running part will take a bit to get back to in that if I tried to run 6 miles now I would drop dead.

In Deming, NM it’s very hard to run. It put a serious damper on my favorite exercise. When we wake up in the morning if you decided to go out and run you would be frozen to the bone. It’s been around 35 with high winds every morning for the past 8 weeks. High winds in a running skirt or running pants even? No. Not happening.

So if I wait until it warms up, then it’s almost too warm to run. Such is life in the high desert. Michigan and the Seattle area are ideal running places so I can’t wait to have a lot more options weather-wise.

Plus, biking in Deming? Hah! I tried one time and the sand and constant blowing dust has permanently clogged half of my gears, rendering them unusable. (There’s a bike shop I know of in MI so I’m going to get it fixed.) But Michigan is great for bike riding. I’m excited!

Additionally, I thought, in Deming, OK, too cold to run, too hot to run, no problem, I’ll do yoga dvd’s. Well, no. The cabin is big enough to do workouts in, but I have no heat out there, just a little space heater. It takes about 3 hours to warm up the cabin in the winter and then it’s only to around 60 degrees. Not really comfortable. I found that walking seemed to be the ticket for New Mexico, but I really missed doing other forms of exercise. Again, another bonus for me that we get to be in multiple places.

I bought more of the ‘Walk Away the Pounds’ DVDs and a beginner Cardio by Petra that even my directionally challenged brain can work out. I’m looking forward to playing with those in the hotel room the next 10 days.

We will be on the road to Ohio for a job on Tuesday, all day Tuesday, so I’ll see you back here on Wednesday.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

