Great news about my blood pressure!

I had my colonoscopy on Wednesday. I earned a trip back to the procedure room because 2 years ago when I had my first one, I had 9 polyps and one was quite large. This time I had 3 small ones. Yay! AND I found out that my blood pressure has gone from 135 over 83 to 116 over 63!!! The nurse took my blood pressure and said, “WOW!” three times. 🙂 Then she listened to my heart and said, “Yes, yes, yes!”

I’m happy, I’ll tell you what. Happy!

After starving for a whole 24 hours, then not being able to eat or drink until 2 pm, then eating only veggies and fruit the rest of the day, I lost exactly 1 pound. Ha. It is to laugh.

Anyway, I never weigh in on Thursdays like I said I would. I’ll be better from now on. I’m down to 198. 4 and I’m not making any effort to do anything different other than running and eating a vegan diet with LOW fat and no crap. I can’t believe how much fat there is in vegan diets. I believe 45% fat is about the number I read and it can be higher than that. All those nuts and nut butters and fake butter for cooking sweets.

So this time around I’m passing on that stuff. I’ve decided to do what Shauna is doing over on  The Amazing Adventures of Diet Girl. I’m going for 1/2 pound a week throughout this whole year. No need for more. It’ll come off on it’s own if I just keep doing the right things. I’m not a big fan of starving, I like to be comfortable. 1/2 pound a week is really doable.

My running is going so well. I’m on week two of the “back to running” project and am doing a little over 3 miles a day, 3-4 days a week. I’ve been running 10, walking 1 but feel that’s a little hard on my lately non-exercised bod, so I’m going to change to run 5 for awhile.

My only running friend, (in real life) Jamie, in Albuquerque, asked if I’d run the “Run the Zoo” 5k with her on May 6, so I’m going to make that happen. It’s something fun to shoot for.

I also want to do the Cupid’s Chase 5k again in either Albuquerque or Las Cruces, but I’m dragging my feet on it. For one, it will cost me $125 to drive the truck to and from Albuquerque. I could see my kids and run with Jamie, so I’m considering it. For two-I’m scared to run the Las Cruces one, even though it’s only an hour away from home. I need to cowgirl up or man up or something. When I go home I’ll go into Cruces and run the course and see what I think. I really, really hate doing things for the first time. Ugh.

I’m not going to be able to hire Pamela the trainer. She’s raised her prices quite a bit (she’s good) and we’ve got major bills that came along with developing the property, so I’m on my own. I seem to be doing just fine though.

I feel so much more like myself again now that I’m back in the 190’s. I have 4 pounds to go to get to my “safety zone” 5 pound buffer. I feel like I can breath a sigh of relief and trust myself again.

Speaking of new things, tomorrow Jeff and I are going to do our first day of volunteer work with Habitat for Humanity. It’s another “first” thing. Jeff will be there though. One of my new goals for 2012 is to really step through my fear and just do the things I’ve always wanted to do. Feel the fear, but do it anyway.

 

 

 

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great news about my blood pressure!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Good news on the blood pressure! I had the opportunity to have mine tested recently and I was also very proud of the below average numbers I sported!

    I’m curious, what about the Habitat project is causing you fear? It seems like you are a handy, resourceful, earthy kind of gal — I’d think the HFH project would be right up your alley!

    • Jennifer, I don’t know. I’m such a huge chicken about doing things for the first time. I’m like a wild cat, approaching a nice bowl of milk. I have to walk around it a bit before I can dive in!

  2. matilda444 says:

    Check out Fitocracy.com

Say Hi!

