Starting a new year

I can hardly believe I’ve been running for a year now. Honestly, I thought it had been years. I had to sit down and calculate to see that no, it’s just been a year.

As you can see, I changed the name of my blog. I think that works great. I can stay here on this blog but feel like I have a new start. And I do. I love that about life. You can always just begin again.

I’m down to 199.1 again, so I’m working it! I’m eating raw fruit and veggies for breakfast and lunch and then for dinner a salad and either lentils, baked potato or beans of all kinds. I track my calories now on Fit Day, because if you click the “daily nutrition” link under “more”, it shows you exactly how much protein, vitamin E, A, etc you’ve had for the day. I constantly meet or WAY exceed the daily requirements in all but selenium and b12, so I supplement those.

I eat all the time. Seriously, it’s crazy. I eat, eat, eat. And I keep losing. I have five pounds to go to get back to my safe and comfortable 5 pound range. Then I’d love to keep losing. I figure I have all of 2012 to make progress and I feel much more like myself, so I can be patient. Just not eating sugar, flours, processed food or extra fats has been a massive improvement that I’m proud of.

You’d be surprised how much fat you get just eating fruit, vegetables and legumes. Yesterday 12% of my calories out of a 1800 calorie day were fat and that’s great. My goal is 10% and I usually keep it between 10-12%. I feel great.

For the past 2 weeks I’ve been walking an hour a day, a couple of times, 2 hours or more. This week I dusted off the Couch to 5K app on my smashed-screen iphone and started it again. I’m also doing yoga, which I like, but I have to sort of force myself and that surprises me. Running is so easy for me. It just fits. Yoga I have to make myself do. I’m hoping it gets easier in the “wanting to” department.

I’m in Washington state for the next 2 and 1/2 weeks. I’ve been here for a week now, enjoying seeing my husband and visiting with my Mom. Jeff is on his Christmas break from Boeing right now, so we’ve been having fun hopping the Seattle buses and heading to Pike Place Market and walking all around town. It’s alternating between raining and partial sun but honestly, it’s better here than it has been at home in New Mexico.

I was home for 3 weeks and during that time it uncharacteristically rained several times for several days until we had gotten 4″ of rain (in the desert!) and many inches of snow. It’s been a crazy December at home.

I’m going to stick with the Couch to 5K program 3 days a week as I develop my strength again. It feels so good to be back on track. 2 months of no exercise has wreaked havoc on my weight and my muscles.

I know I keep saying we’ll have internet out at the property soon. It’s just that I keep coming and going never seem to be at home long enough to get it done. This next time when I go home, I’m going to stay for 3 months and first thing I’m doing is to go into town and get those guys to come out.

I’m getting tired of travel and of taking care of everyone else. I’m looking forward to a solid 10-12 weeks of work in my little art studio/cabin. I have planned a large series of pieces to paint and am looking forward to doing more settling in at our new place.

My husband will be traveling almost constantly this next year, so it’s going to be a little rough. I’ll join him in Michigan several times, and also here at my Mom’s, where he stays half of each year on business. But for both of us, this is going to be a year of personal growth and we’re looking forward to it. We hate being apart, but we only have 11 months to go after this year is over so we’re going to make the best of it.

 

 

 

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

