August

Hi everybody. I sure am having a hard time blogging lately. We’re heavy into traveling and honestly, it’s not the first thing I think of in the morning. Get up. Blog. No, I’m thinking more along the lines of coffee and getting to work on my painting.

I’ve sold three paintings this month, so, woo hoo! I honestly think that losing so much weight has given me the confidence to step out in all areas of my life. I’m coming more into my own in the art world. Obviously that makes me radically happy.

I’ve been really getting into Yoga lately and have been bouncing back and forth between running and walking every single day. I was working on a 10K program but this week was really enjoying walking 5-9 miles a day on a trail near where we’re staying, so I let the running go this week so I could explore. Lately I’ve been doing run 3, walk 1 because I’ve doubled my workout time to a little over an hour. I feel no need to go out and run flat out. I just don’t care. I like just creeping up on running a longer distance without worrying what anyone will think about how I’m doing it. I love making my own rules. I figure that ultimately I’d like to run 5 and walk 1 through the whole distance, however long that distance is.

The other day I was out walking and I went in a new direction because there was a dog loose in the way I normally go. At the end of the road a HUGE pit bull raced out the end of the very long driveway of a very expensive home. He ran right for me. Pit bulls are not my favorite dog. If you have one and you’re one of those people that say, “Oh, he’s so sweet, he’d never hurt anyone,” I don’t want to hear about it. This dog raced up to me, barking MADLY and lunging at me every which way. I screamed “NO!” four times and took my back pack off, holding it up against me to protect myself. I’m so embarrassed to say this, but I knew that if that dog got it’s jaws on me I wasn’t going to be able to get free. I was terrified. I threw my head back and I SCREAMED…AHHHHHHH!!!!!!! No lie. I screamed like I was being murdered. I figured that maybe, just maybe, someone would hear me.

A youngish woman came out and called him off and I was so furious, I just turned around and started walking away, shaking like a leaf. She called out, “Did he jump on you?” I said, “No, he just scared me.” And she said:

“He wouldn’t hurt you. He’s very tame.”

If I could have slapped her, I would have. But you know what? She was busy. What was she doing? Screaming at her bloody dog, calling him back over and over again as he kept trying to go after me. I just kept walking, thinking, oh yeah, he’s so tame, he’s so sweet, he would never hurt anyone. I should have called the police.

I’m not scared of dogs. I was bit badly by one when I was a child, so you’d think I would be really scared. But honestly, I know that most dogs back off and are just posturing when they bark at you. Not this one, he meant business.

Hubbies home!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

