Moving Forward

I’m back from our almost week-long Johnson family camp out. It was the best camp trip in my 30 years of marriage because it helped a lot not being almost 300 pounds like I was at the last trip-in 105 or so weather. We swam (OK, the water was like ice cubes so we “waded”) and kayaked, thanks to super family members who shared their new toy, and I walked or ran almost every day.

Best of all, fitness-wise, I got to work out with a great personal trainer most mornings. She was just certified by ACE and I got to benefit from her excitement and knowledge. Also? Owe.

Back to me. For ME, maintaining is staying within 5 pounds of where I want to be and I am/have stayed there though this past month, even with all of my shenanigans, though right now, I’m on the upper end at 194. Oh! Speaking of which, I ate so well on our vacation! I’m super proud of that. We bought a lot of fruit, some celery and carrots and dried fruit as well as some nuts and we ate those goodies all day then ate dinner at night with everyone: Pasta, salad, burritos and I can’t remember what else, but it was very, very good. Back to my point—–what was my point?

My point is that I’m doing pretty good but I’ve thought about it for about 6 weeks now and I’m ready to sneak up on the 170’s.
I’m not going to set a “goal” of 1-2 pounds a week. I’m not going to set a “goal” of anything anymore. Goals screw with my life. I’ve lived by goals far too long. I’m going to set INTENTIONS of the general direction I want to be heading and I’m going to do it every single morning for the next 5 months, until the end of 2011.

I’m going to start working with a trainer again this fall, because I believe it helps me to focus. After a few months I forget I have to FOCUS and I’m all over the place. In fact, from now on, I’m going to work with a trainer maybe 1-2 times a year for one month at a time because eating issues don’t just go away. If you’ve grown up with them, they’re always there, crouching just outside the kitchen door. I love the plan of having someone to help reign me in, tighten up where I’ve loosened too much-someone to help me find focus for the upcoming 6 or 12 months.

I’ll continue to eat raw food in the form of nuts, veggies and fruit but now I’m eating cooked nuts and nut butters and I’m liking that. For dinner we just eat a light dinner of whatever, usually some protein and a salad or the like. I have to keep holding simple carbs at bay because it seems that now, every time I eat them my vision is affected. It makes it hard to enjoy eating a burrito knowing that the next morning it’s going to be pretty hard to see clearly. It makes fresh fruits look really good. Literally. Ha! I made a joke.

There, since I’m talking too much today, I’ll slip a few pictures in to hold your interest. Or to thank you. Whichever.

I love these new “jumping off” places because I get to basically re-create my life again. Nothing makes me happier than crafting an even better life. So for these next 3-4 months, my intention is to have a daily yoga practice and in addition to that, run 3 days a week, first finishing up the Couch to 5K program again (I’m in week 5 right now) and then going on to the 10K program.

I want to keep the arm muscles I’ve sprouted and I want to do it with yoga. Yes, I could lift weights (I bought an 8 pounder) but I don’t want to. Yoga pleases me and comforts me and gives me a center point to my life both spiritual and physical and I want yoga to be my muscle builder. (Though I am going to use that 8 pounder for basic arm build-up.) I believe I have about 10-15 different yoga dvd’s so I’m going to cycle through those for the rest of the year. That, and getting back to eating around 1600 or so calories while I’m losing. I’ve been hanging out at around 2200 or so. (And it’s been SWEET!!!)

So that’s my focus for the rest of the year. Of course I hope to lose into the 170’s
but my INTENTION isn’t the weight, it’s to log my calories daily and to stay within my range, to eat mostly healthy foods and to develop a daily yoga practice that I love, not allowing my travels to be an excuse anymore, and to continue my running and training, 3 days per week. Hopefully the weight will follow-or fall off.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving Forward

  1. Judy says:

    Thank you for sharing your goals. Congratulations for doing so well during your holiday. I am on vacation until the middle of August. There is no scale. I am doing the best I can where I am but I am thinking ahead to when I am back home. Seeing your plans laid out gives me things to think about when I am shaping my own. Keep up the good work. You give me hope.

Say Hi!

