Taking a Break from Blogging Here

I need to stop blogging for awhile. I don’t get a lot of readers over here, a little more than 1000 a month, and judging by the 3-4 comments I receive each month, I’m not contributing much to the blogging world. I really hate it when people are whiney about their blogs and comments or how few people like them on Twitter of the other social networks. I’m not complaining about lack of comments. You know how bloggers do that thing where they ask a question to get input from their readers? That’s never been me. It’s not that I don’t care about you, but I suppose that in the end, the blog is just about helping me to lose weight. Since I don’t interact much with readers, or they with me, I know my words probably aren’t helping many others, just me. And that’s good enough.

One blogger I really loved has made her blog a complete business in every way, to the point where it’s not fun anymore. It’s not personal and homey and real, It’s just about linking to the next post on the next blog to sell the next product she’s representing. It’s made me think. This is not a passion for me. Weight loss is not my passion. I don’t want it to be a business in any way. Losing weight is what I had to do do have a life. That’s all. So I’m not good at wooing people to become readers, because, to what end? I wouldn’t have a clue.

I’m taking a long break and then I’ll see if I want to continue this blog or simply move over to talking about my life in general, as my husband and I develop our retirement property on my blog, “Rancho Mañana”.

Just wanted to share that with you all. Lately I’m feeling that if what I’m doing isn’t helping anyone else, then it’s actually a waste of time and I should be using that time to do something I’m passionate about. So at this point, I’m planning a break from the blog because we’re traveling for 2 weeks and then I’ll be living out on our Deming property in our cabin with no electricity and my only internet access will be via my iphone. It seems like a good time to take a break.

So I’ll get back here around the end of July, the first of August. You can always shoot me a note if you’d like at: katiejohnsonwriter@yahoo.com

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking a Break from Blogging Here

  1. Oh. Hmmmm. Well I understand. But I do love to read your blog and know how you are doing. I know too that we’ll stay in touch no matter what. I don’t get around to posting comments much and that’s why I stopped complaining that I don’t get a lot of comments. Personally, your blog is about you and FOR you so you can do it as often as you like. You don’t need to contribute or add to anything. I’m so very tired of people who write these deep-ass posts every day that are so moving and emotional. My God, settle down, relax, live a little! You are WAY more than weight loss Katie. You are an amazing, talented, smart, funny, wonderful person. And a good friend. You’ve loads to offer. Way more than weight loss stuff.

    So blog or don’t. But most importantly just be true to yourself.

    Much love, Renée

  2. Jennifer says:

    I will miss your posts Katie, but I’ll try to keep in touch through your other blog site. Have a great summer, and have fun!

  3. Jenny says:

    I like to read your blog regularly, it is fun to share in your accomplishments. But I can understand why you might feel that you are spending too much time thinking and writing about weight issues. Sometimes it seems you are over-thinking your weight, fitness, and eating lifestyle but I may be projecting my own ruminating thoughts. 🙂 Obviously it was a good tool for you and helped you to succeed. Maybe soon you can feel confident that you know how to keep yourself healthy, love yourself, and just let the doubting thoughts go. Best of luck!

  4. shauna says:

    dagnabbit i take a week and a bit off the internet and you up and leave me!

    just know that even when people can’t comment on every entry (coz they are slyly reading at work when noone is looking) doesn’t mean they are not reading and savouring your wonderful words. Also, they may be Google reader subscribers so they don’t show up in your site stats 🙂

    Will defo keep reading your other blog and keep this one in my reader so will always know if you come back 🙂 Rock on!

  5. shauna says:

    WHEN, that should have been! August ain’t so far away 🙂

  6. Judy says:

    I will miss you but I totally understand the need for a break.

Say Hi!

