My Current Fitness Plans

We got our 12×26′ cabin in last week and honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard or had so much fun. We got in all of the rest of the fence posts, including all of the huge corner posts. That barbed wire you see is one of two temporary strands we put in to keep the cows away from the building until we can finish the fence next month. We’ve had cows push over whole, new buildings while they’re leaning there, scratching themselves on the corners!

I spent a great deal of the week in this position:

I’m seriously a good hole digger and I actually like it. One of my hidden skills I suppose. We’ll be going back in four weeks for 4 days to finish installing cross bracing poles at all the corners and then we’ll string the rest of miles of barbed wire and hang two 16′ farm gates and it’ll be done. It looks good! We’re quite proud of ourselves.

As I was uploading pictures to my new computer from my iphone, I saw this one and thought, who is that?

Oh. Me! That brings up what I wanted to share. I’m at 189 now, bouncing up and down 2-3 pounds and then back down on any given day of the week. I’m happy with where I am right now. I’d like to lose another 10-15 pounds, but I’m going to put in in the time frame of over the next year or TWO. I’m going to focus on about a pound or less a month, which really just means that I’m going to keep running and keep making good food choices, while enjoying a little more of the nut butters with my celery, the occasional carob or chocolate treat and going out for a burger from time to time. Basically I think it’ll be more of the same, but with an eye to watching my food intake and keeping it mostly pure, whole foods.

I absolutely love the raw food diet as a baseline to come back to again and again. We almost always eat fruits or smoothies for breakfast and a plate of raw veggies with peanut butter or almond butter and a fruit for lunch, then we kind of go, “What do we want for dinner?” A salad or a piece of fried liver? I know, we’re a little all over the place, but we chose healthy food 99% of the time and whether that’s fruit or chicken, at least it doesn’t come in a package or isn’t a conglomeration of 3 cheeses and meats in the form of a lasagna.

This morning we both thought, you know what? I want some eggs and bacon for breakfast. For lunch we’re having a salad with oil and vinegar. It’s just so easy once you divorce yourself from junky foods. I look at packages in the store now and what I see is the PACKAGING with “stuff” in the bags. I no longer think of it as “food”. In no way is it food. I’m not tempted at all by it.

BUT, when I want something, I HAVE it. Usually that’s in the form of going out for a burger, a humongous burger, and then splitting fries with my husband. And I don’t feel the least bit bad about it because I have a “go to” home base that brings me immediately back on track-raw food.

I do forays into cheeses from time to time, like once a month. I do LOVE cheese! I eat a lot of it on one day and then spend the whole day and the next day with my guts in turmoil, almost never leaving the bathroom. So the pay off isn’t sweet. LOL! But I’m human and I love cheese and if I have it 12 times a year, who cares?

I made these fabulous flax seed crackers that we use instead of chips or crackers and we love them. They have no flour in them. Basically, mix a cup or two of whole flax seeds with about a 1/2 cup or a cup of ground up flax seeds with water and let them sit for a few hours. Add salt and all kinds of spices and bake them at 170 for about 40 minutes or so on a sprayed pan because they stick.

Yes, they’re baked. I am all about inconsistency. I made them in my food dehydrator so the temp wouldn’t kill all the food enzymes, but it melted half of my trays because I don’t yet have those expensive fancy sheets to set on the trays so they’re actually USEABLE, which is the biggest rip off. I tried using wax paper but no, the food just sticks to it big time and then you have to wet the paper and soak the food to pull it off. I opted to cook the crackers/chips on a low temp and consider it a part of the “not raw” food but still incredibly healthy. A few less enzymes, but then overall, still a GREAT food choice.

My husband LOVES chips and salsa and ends up eating so many chips that it kills his stomach so he finally just had to give it up last year. Really, the chips are just a vehicle to get the salsa back in his mouth. So when he eats these, he loves them and in the end, basically all he’s eating is flax seed and spices-super good for his digestive system!

So I’m kind of excited about a lot of things. Too many to go into here, all in one day, so I’ll have to meter them out over a few days. But the first one is that I’m not focusing on weight loss anymore. That’s big.

No, I’m not at my true goal yet, but that will happen over the next year. Honestly, I don’t have a clue what my true goal “should” be. I know that for the short term I’ll feel better when I get to 185, so that when the scale bounces all around, I’ll still be in the 180’s. But I know that I feel good and feel like “me” and feel just generally happy in a size 10. So I think that whatever happens over time will just be a sort of adjustment of my body as I do more running and continue to eat healthy.

Tomorrow I’ll talk about my latest running goal, which is insane, I assure you, and my upcoming adventure on Saturday, which has been a goal of mine for over a year.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

