Playing at School Today

I’m heading off to my sister’s school for the day. She teaches at a Native American school in WA that filters over 70 tribes into the school system. It’s one of the hardest teaching jobs known to mankind and I feel sorry for her every single day. She works her butt off and it’s never enough. I have such sympathy for school teachers. She’s amazing at her job and the kids love her, but it’s a soul crushing job with a ridiculous amount of politics that she simply cannot overcome.

It’s hard for me to watch her teach because she’s a math teacher (and an English teacher) and she moves SO FAST in her class that I can’t keep up for 10 seconds. Worse, she’s a special Ed. Math teacher and I never know at ALL what she’s talking about. That’s how math handy I am. I usually feel traumatized after spending a full day sitting in her classroom. But I get to sit at the teacher’s desk and read magazines all day long so I feel really special and important. That also says a lot about me. How deep am I?

I’m bringing my bag-o-food with me. Now that I’m in my Mom’s house for the week I’m starting to see how MUCH I eat because there are people around me all the time and they’re watching me and commenting on my eating! She thinks it’s so funny. Yesterday I had a giant bowl of just raw mushrooms seasoned with oil and vinegar and season salt. She said, “Are you seriously going to eat all of that?” And yep, I did. She said she would throw up if she ate that many mushrooms. By the end of the day, my list of eaten foods on Loseit! was hugely long and yet I only logged about 1500 calories. I love to eat. I do. I LOVE to eat. One of the best things about eating mostly raw is that there is no guilt-nada. In fact I get to end every day feeling not only proud of my choices but feeling GREAT every day.

Oh, on a side note, I’m not sure if I even mentioned this. My husband is doing the raw thing with me-it’s the way he’s always wanted to eat, pretty much for as long as we’ve known each other, so he’s a happy camper. He’s had perpetually dry skin for a few years now and it drives him nuts. Now, after just 3 weeks of being on the raw food, he has NO more dry skin and hasn’t used a lotion in weeks. In addition to that, he’d had sinus congestion and had be speaking all nasally for about 3 months and I was starting to get worried about him. That completely disappeared in about 2 weeks. For my part, I’ve gone from having to wash my hair every other day (when I was doing the low carb thing with LOTS of meat and cheese my hair was really, really oily) to once a week and it’s shiny as can be!

OK, enough bragging. Today I was making almond butter because I ran out and I had a ton of raw almonds. I threw them in the blender with some macadamia nut oil that was flavored with garlic. OK, that was weird, but on raw celery it’s really good! In my goodie bag that’s going to school: celery packed with garlic almond butter, a big tomato, tangerines, 3 carrots and a plum. Cannot wait.

Have to head out now. I want to stop at the grocery store and pick up more fruits and veggies. I’m plowing through everything we bought this weekend.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

