What the Raw Food Thing Looks Like for Me

I will NEVER get over these funky black squirrels in Michigan. They look like sweet little stuffed animals running around the parks. They’re the supermodel of the squirrel world-the Vogue cover squirrel, so to speak. I always go nuts when I see one and I’ve been seeing them for over a decade.

On the raw food diet: I love it so much and so does Jeff. We start off every morning with a big green smoothie of raw kale, spinach, or any other green, plus bananas and a variety of frozen fruit. It’s so incredibly easy to do and it’s great starting the day off right with a big punch of nutrition racing straight into our bloodstreams.

We’re pretty proud of ourselves for starting the morning off right as it sets the tone for the whole day. Once you start your day out right, you don’t want to screw it up. Plus, neither one of us gets hungry at all until close to noon so how can you beat that?

I’m not about the “dogma” of this way of life. What I’m looking for is the healthiest way of life for me and my body. Equally important is what will WORK for me. Since I can’t eat grains or most dairy, when I make choices that are not raw foods it’s in the form of fish, chicken or beef-3 to 4 oz at two or three meals each week. I suppose that in part, it’s because I’ve lived life as a vegan for long periods of time in my life, that I feel strongly that I don’t want to be pushed into that corner of being told that I MUST do this and I MUST do that to support the “brotherhood”. No. If the way I eat helps the planet out a bit and the animal kingdom out a bit, that’s all good, but I’m eating this way because it’s good for my health. Yes, selfishly, I’m only thinking of me.

I’m finding that being flexible about the diet allows me to lighten up and have some fun with friends and family occasionally, and since meat doesn’t make my digestive system go insane, it’s my choice to slot into that 20% or so that’s not raw. I also don’t worry if a dried fruit that I didn’t dry myself, is in a salad, and I’m not sure if it was dried at a low temp or whatever. (That was a horrific sentence.)

I make really good choices throughout the day, so if I have a small, still-healthy item that may not be completely raw, meh, I don’t get my panties in a twist over it. I work to make sure I’m maintaining a good level of proteins throughout the rest of the week and I’m doing a bang up job of it according to my nutritional app, so that’s great.

Jeff can eat whatever he wants and I don’t care what he eats. It’s his life and his choices and I get that. But he told me last night that he gets excited over every single meal because he KNOWS it’s going to taste so good. He’s also discovering that by eating raw foods most of the time, that when he goes out with co-workers for fries and a hamburger, it’s not that big of a deal to his system since for the most part he treats his body to excellent, healthy food choices. That makes me happy.

I guess it’s getting close to maintaining so I’ve been hunting around and have found some interesting things on it. I’ll have to chat about them tomorrow but let’s just say that it’s a whole other job, a job that will never be finished. I think that’s both interesting and scary and comforting at the same time.

I’m off to pluck my laundry out of the hotel dryer. Hope y’all have a grand day.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What the Raw Food Thing Looks Like for Me

  1. matilda444 says:

    And here I was half expecting a post about squirrel. Meat. 😉 We grow a good bit of our own produce here in Minnesota. I look at the pesky squirels, geese and deer as an end-of-the-economy-last-resort potential protein source.

Say Hi!

