Blog Makeover

This is a picture from last summer, here in Michigan. In reality, the trees are just now starting to leaf out. When I left home the whole valley along the Rio Grande was in full leaf. Is that a term? Full leaf?

When you travel it’s strange to see spring unfold in one place for weeks and then to hit another state where spring is just beginning so you get to watch it all unfold again. It’s odd to see grass everywhere here, when at home we have sand and rocks in every yard. It always shocks my senses. I don’t miss the grass one little bit though because I remember very plainly what it’s like to cut a HALF ACRE hilly lot with a little you-push-it lawnmower.

Alright, on to the important stuff: I finally got to hold my second “fake grandbaby” last night! Here she is, JoHanna:

She’s so very tiny. And so pretty. And tiny. Sigh. I’m getting soft in my old age. I really like kids now. I don’t know when that happened because I’m not a mothering type Mom. But now? They’re so peachy keen.

On to the fat stuff: I’m pretty sure I’m in the 180’s now. My size 12’s are getting loose now. I think I’m going to head on down to the store this weekend and buy a pair of 11’s on the cheap so I’ll have something to work myself into. The last time I had on a pair of 11’s I was in 7th grade. Sizes before that? Not a whiff of a memory.

Speaking of weight loss, and aren’t I always speaking of weight loss? I can’t believe how much I’m enjoying not having a scale. Cannot believe it. For real. I’ve GOT to be voted the “person most addicted to her scale” and yet, I’m not missing it. I’m watching my calories in vs calories burned on Loseit! and as long as there’s a deficit there, I’m all good. Last week, before I left, I had only a 300 calorie deficit and yet I lost 2 pounds-so, go figure.

It’s amazing really. I eat intuitively now, completely. I don’t put a bite of food in my mouth if I don’t want it. I don’t play those mind games anymore. You know those games:

“I already lost 2 pounds this week so I can eat this one little thing.”
“I’ll eat this today and then be more careful tomorrow. I still have 3 days till my weigh-in.””
“I know it’s the middle of the day but I’ll weigh myself and see if I can afford to eat this treat.
“WHY won’t the scale go down? I’m eating only my allotted amount of calories?”

Once you remove all crap from your diet and then just eat good whole food and no junk, your body will find it’s way. I mean come on, for Pete’s sake. God GAVE us good whole food that will sustain us and keep us at a normal weight. He didn’t give us Fritos and Mars Bars. If we just eat nice, simple food MOST of the time, not even all of the time, there’s really no need to watch the scale. I know, I’m in shock about that too.

I’ve been super pleased to see that my stomach bumps and bulges and sags are just smoothing out and yanking up and looking NORMAL. Too much info? Meh. When I started out on this whole whizz bang weight loss thing, I said I’d get plastic surgery if I needed to when I was done. Don’t need to. First of all, no bits look ick. Second, who cares? I’m 51. If I have some sagging and lack of firmness (Hello wiggly arms.) then that’s just fine. I’ve heard that a lot of people have good success with the loose skin thing on a raw food diet too, so maybe that will help. But really, I don’t have what you’d call “loose skin” and that so pleases me.

Also, have to say, my husband and I are so funny when we’re eating now. It’s like a party in the house at every meal. We have giant veggie/fruit smoothies in the morning and incredible meals each night together and we can’t stop oohing and ahhing over how GREAT things taste. Seriously, we’re so annoying. We’re both working on finding a good balance. When he eats out for business lunches he’s just making the best choices he can and doesn’t feel bad about that. We’re going to Easter dinner at our friend’s house on Sunday and we’re going to do the best we can but we’re also going to enjoy our friends and enjoy a sampling of the foods. I’m all about growing into this lifestyle. It helps that I NEED to eat this way in order to not live in the bathroom. So honestly, it makes it a little harder to make a poor food choice, you know?

OK, must go back to the skin/aging thing. I was watching this incredible documentary called, “Raw for 30 Days”. It’s on YouTube in 7 parts. This link will bring you to part 1. Watch it!

There’s one older man in this video who, when he starts the 30 day raw food experiment, his face is a sagging mess. I saw him and thought, wow, he’s old. I know, that’s mean because I’m old too. Anyway, at the end of just THIRTY DAYS, when he was going home, this guy looked like he’d had a major face lift. He looked simply incredible. And his diabetes was gone too but hey, he looked amazing! Eating healthy really DOES show on your face!

I find myself looking at people’s faces now, not at their bodies. You can see in a persons face how they eat. “You are what you eat”. That really means something. When you see those older people in their 70’s to 90’s who are totally into yoga and very VERY healthy eating? They look beautiful. Eating Ho Ho’s and Ding Dongs and McDonald’s will wreck your body and your looks. Just saying. (And by the way, I know I mention Ho Hos a lot on this blog. I just love to say that name. Ho Hos. Ho Hos.)

OK, so here’s what I’m going to do. I’m doing a makeover on my blog. I think most of you know I’m studying to get my Food Coach Certification. I’m going to move that toward coaching on the raw food lifestyle in the future, which completely excites me-but then doesn’t everything? When I started “Fit Living Daily” I chose that name very consciously because I knew that it would morph easily into whatever topics I wanted to focus on as I learned and grew into a healthy lifestyle. So I’m staying put right here.

I’ll be talking about raw food from now on-yoga, running and raw food. I just want to forewarn you so that if raw food recipes and hippies drive you bonkers, well, you know, you might not like it here. Cause I love me some hippies.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Makeover

  1. biobabbler says:

    This may sound odd, but I am a biologist. Your comparison of how people who DO eat well look v. people who do NOT eat well look reminds me of this: wildlife. Wildlife species (say, in parks) that beg for and eat human food ALWAYS look kinda crappy. Fur/feathers not as lush or glossy, it’s like they have a grey cast over their faces. Just don’t look good, esp. if you’ve seen wildlife that’s WILD and ONLY eats from nature’s smorgasbord. It makes a HUGE difference. Eating natural food –> gorgeous. Eating cheetos –> uh, not so much.

    Congrats on your continued and deepening success. I accidentally drowned my scale recently and am just DONE with them. Recently went to doctor and I weighed more than I have in ages but am smaller so apparently have added muscles–yay! =) Even showed my doctor my new “guns.” =)

Say Hi!

