In Michigan

Well, I blew it. I packed my bathroom scale and took the batteries/battery cover out as I packed it and then left them at home. So now I’m without a scale for three whole weeks.

It’s a good thing, actually. Perhaps the universe intervened on my behalf. Lately I’ve been struggling again with the scale, in that I think I don’t need it but am afraid to do without it. I packed and unpacked it several times and in the end had decided I would take it on one more trip but never again.

Things are so different now because my eating is so on track that there’s just no reason anymore to keep weighing myself daily. We don’t eat out much, we don’t eat “treats” all the time, we just eat how we eat and love it very much. I track my calories and nutrients every day and I really feel that that’s all I need.

One thing I especially like about the “Loseit!” app is that once a week they send me an overview of the whole weeks calories and my calorie burn so I can see exactly what I’ve been up to.

I don’t need the scale to tell me if I’m doing alright because my exercise and eating habits are the only thing that’s important now. If my calorie count shoots up I’ll gain weight. If my calorie burn plummets, I’ll gain weight. If it all looks pretty much on track, I’m going to be on track. So why weigh every day and get wound up about it?

Also, I’ve pretty much decided to go ahead and let my body settle at the weight that’s best for it, and judging by the amount of fat still on my belly, I figure that may be in the 160’s or so. And you know what? I don’t really want to watch the scale going down anymore. I’m tired of looking at it and thinking about it. I’m just going to let it happen. I’m dreaming of just eating wonderful raw food and walking and running and enjoying life, occasionally buying smaller sizes until I get down to very healthy BMI.

That’s one thing about pretty much eating only tasty raw food-there are no extremely fatty, calorie dense foods so there’s not really much of the “Hmm, what weight do I want to stop at?” Because when you’re only eating fresh, raw fruits, nuts, sprouts and vegetables, there really aren’t any foods that will KEEP those extra pounds on. When you’re eating only whole, raw, unprocessed, un-dinked-with foods, your body WILL get to it’s natural weight. I’ve never eaten so much food in all my life, so I’m completely content too. It’s so embarrassing how much food I eat! I can’t relate at all to people who get hungry all the time.

Some weird things I’m noticing is that I’m actually a lot smaller than I ever thought I could be-body structure wise anyway. My two sisters, when they’ve lost a lot of weight, look so tiny and “little bird like”, even though they’re both quite tall too. I just always thought I was stout and stocky. But as I keep losing, I can see that without the extra belly fat, etc, I have incredibly long legs, but I’m actually NOT stocky and stout. Very weird, I’ll tell you what.

The last time I weighed myself I was at 190. It’s odd to know that when I get home in 3 weeks time, I’ll be in the 180’s. That blows me away a bit. This week before I left home I went through my pants and had to give away all but one pair of my size 12’s and they’re getting lose. I’m beginning to think I’ll end up in a size 8 or so. Ridiculous. Odd. Weird.

I’m starting to enjoy the idea of just eating, tracking my nutrition and not giving a fig about the scale. I’ve said it before, I know, but as I move further along this path it’s so much more of a burden to focus on the weight. I’m sort of loving the idea of saying, “I have no idea what I weigh.” I never understood people who do that but now I do.

I’ve become unclear about what to do about my Fit Living Daily blog. I very much want to move my focus away from weight loss and toward celebrating eating great food and enjoying moderate exercise.

I know that most people aren’t interested in the eating path that I’ve morphed into over the past 16 months, so I think blathering on about raw foods here will be a big bore to most people. (But let me tell you what, my severe symptoms with Crohn’s are almost a distant memory at this point, so YAY to that!)

I’m thinking of starting a new blog that focuses on raw foods and raw food recipes and peaceful, zen things like yoga and meditation and yummy things like that. If I decide to do that, I’ll move to posting here only about once a week or so. I’ll let you know when I decide. If you have input I’d like to hear it!!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Michigan

  1. Michelle Conover says:

    I love your blog, and I’m sorry i only found it a couple of weeks ago. I also love raw food and am always looking for new ideas. I have a dehydrator too and haven’t used it. Keep on writing no matter what the subject! I’ll be at 190 in a couple of months too; just hit 220 this morning. Thank you.

Say Hi!

