Excellent food!

After my first day of eating raw, I’m LOVING it. Loving. It.

I’ve always been curious about eating raw but it seemed impossible.But as the months have passed and my diet continues to change, I get that it’s just not going to be all that hard. And the food is soooo good!

Last night for dinner I had a large cabbage salad (my favorite) with pecans, carrots, celery, spices, olive oil , vinegar and nutritional yeast. Hello my old friend. I know it’s weird, but I do believe nutritional yeast is one of my favorite foods on the planet. Dang, that was a good salad. On the side I had a bowl of concord grapes and and orange. I was stuffed.

This morning at 5 a.m. I had a lovely plate of fresh strawberries, carrots sticks and celery boats filled with almond butter and topped with raisins. Seriously, how can you not love that?

I went shopping at the Sunflower natural market yesterday and picked up raw Brazil nuts, pecans, walnuts, raisins, almond butter (incredible), Tahini butter(made from sesame seeds),organic bananas, strawberries, celery, lettuce and cabbage. Oh, and a cantalope!

I ordered a coffee grinder so I can grind my own nut flour and a food dehydrator so that I can “cook” my own breads and taco shells. I’m finding that this diet is working well with the Chrohn’s and that I can have some things that I’m not “supposed” to be able to eat, and they don’t bother me. I’m noticing that the cleaner I’ve been eating this past month, that having something that would probably mess with my guts normally, doesn’t seem to bother me as long as I don’t do it for several days in a row. So that’s hugely hopeful right there.

I had 53.5 grams of protein yesterday in spite of the fact that I didn’t eat any animal products and I’m quite sure that I can EASILY up that if I want. Easily.

What I especially like about this way of eating is that it’s just so freakin’easy–and that I’m not hungry. I don’t even have to think about it. Veggies and fruits are everywhere and if I eat out I can find a salad on every menu.

The thing I truly believe, from the bottom of my heart is that whatever diet you pick just DO IT! Be true to what you believe about your diet and do it. It really drives me nuts when people say they’re a “meat and potatoes” kind of person but what they eat is fast food and Ding Dongs and bags of chocolate. If you’re going to be a meat and potatoes person then eat meat and potatoes and throw in a salad and some veggies. Don’t eat Doritos and Cheese Nips.

I think it’s so happy that I’m learning to embrace food and have FUN with it. Food has always been my enemy. Not anymore. I have mastered my food and now I can be friends with it and see what yummy things I can create out of whole, raw foods. It’s exciting!

And by the way, I had to share this too: My son, the diabetic, had a burger from Carl’s yesterday. The best looking burger I’ve seen in a long time. He ordered it “low carb” and it came wrapped thickly in lettuce leaves! Apparently you can order ANY burger on the whole menu and ask them to leave off the bun and wrap it in lettuce. I think that’s just amazing. He was so happy to find something he thought tasted great and it was perfectly fine for his blood sugar.

There are things out there that you can try, that you can do, that you can eat. I encourage you to get out there and find what way YOU like to eat and then be willing to allow that to morph as you grow into a friendlier relationship with food. It really is fun!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

