Raw Foods for 30 Days

Hey chickies! I had a great run with my running partner this morning, along the Bosque,with water and everything. That’s always a plus when you live in the desert- getting to run where there’s an irrigation channel. We did 3.59 miles in 49 minutes which is pretty good. I’ve turned off my walk/run timer and am now just walking when I feel the need, typically after a mile, then a 1/2 mile, then every 5-10 minutes until we’re done. I’m starting to see improvement in my running now and I’m jazzed about that!

I forgot to mention that I’m going to eat raw this month and see what I think about it. Because of the stupid Crohn’s and the way I’m eating for that monkey on my back, I’m almost there anyway. I thought I’d give it a go. Nuts, fruits, veggies and anything not cooked over 120 I think-still learning. I can still have my homemade yogurt, which is awesome, and my homemade fruit “ice cream” which makes it completely happy. Or makes me happy at any rate.

No meat, and I don’t think any cheeses. I track all of my food very carefully on Loseit! and I was so pleased to find that at noon, I’d already taken in 18 grams of protein, which is pretty good. Eating raw, apparently, the nutrients and minerals in your food STAY there instead of being destroyed by the cooking process. Anything that gets more healthy nutrients in my body is a good thing. I was watching raw food videos on YouTube and was hugely encouraged to see how much it helps out with diabetes. I’m thinking if “food is your medicine and medicine is your food” then maybe it will help out a lot with MS and Crohn’s as well.

Now that I’m older and wiser, I like the way I eat. I eat the way I know I want to and need to eat, but if we go to a friend’s house for dinner, I’ll eat anything that they put in front of me and I’ll be thankful for it and I’ll ENJOY it. I like doing it that way. I CHOOSE to eat a certain way 90% of the time, but if we’re out on the town, maybe I won’t. I think that’s a good balance for me. Maybe not for you. I’ve eaten vegan religiously for 9 months at a time, two times in my life. I didn’t like that feeling of not being able to eat cheese once in a blue moon or I’d be a traitor. I answer to me and me only. I can do what I want. So says I.

For me, that plan makes eating on the SCD diet or eating raw, sooooo much easier, because every day it’s a choice and I can choose it or not. It’s my default eating position, as it were. It works for me. I have no intention of giving up meat/cheeses again as a whole, but doing without them 20-25 days a month and filling up on other healthy foods? That feels like a great plan. I don’t think I can go back to that place where it’s “all or nothing”. I don’t like that place. It’s too squeezy and judgmental.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

