Interesting stuff…not really

I took a little, slow 3 mile walk today. I’m feeling better and better and will go out for another walk tomorrow. I’m going to wait on the running stuff until my Thursday run group. Wow! I haven’t been able to exercise since Saturday and I haven’t imploded…I was sort of wondering if maybe that would happen. But no.

You know, I lost THREE pounds last week which is way too much. I’ve been losing 1/2 a pound to 1 pound a week for months so 3 is a big upswing. What changed is that I switched to the “Specific Carb Diet” (SCD) last week for my Crohn’s. It’s done a SUPER JOB in that I haven’t had ANY digestive problems, so woo hoo!!! I’m so glad it works for me. It doesn’t work for some people.

But…I’m kind of grateful I was slammed to a stop and forced to rest because it’s made me think about my diet, my exercise and my calories in vs calories out. Last week I had a calorie burn/calorie deficitly of 9300 total for the whole week. That explains the 3 pound loss. I’ve been sticking pretty closely to the 1700 or so calories for every day, but my exercise has been pretty intensive.

I realize that for my overall big picture, I want to move back to burning around 400 calories or so each day, not the 1000-1200 I sometimes have been burning. I can’t eat the foods that would help keep the pounds on: sweets, grains, any processed foods at all, potatoes, rice, stuff like that.

The foods I do eat are all whole foods: broccoli, fruits, salads, great aged cheeses, fish, pork, chicken and beef fill you up pretty quickly. They keep me stuffed. I’m absolutely sure I can’t find room in my belly to eat another 1000 calories of whole foods in order to stop losing weight once I hit the 170 range. So I definitely do want to roll it back on the exercise. Or I suppose I could eat 10 Tablespoons of almond or peanut butter every day. I think I could totally do that 🙂 I know I’d LOVE to do that.

I’m taking a course to become a Weight Loss and Lifestyle Management Coach and I’m pretty excited about that. It’ll be nice to be able to help someone else out if they want a little guidance and hand-holding in losing weight. So, I’m enjoying my studies. It all comes full circle to help me be mindful of what I’m doing every day, so it’s a win all the way around.

It’s been a bit of a stressful week in a lot of ways. Too much drama. Hate the drama. That’s for sure. Husband and I are counting the days till we leave on vacation. The surveyors are going to be out on the property by this Friday, getting the stakes in so we can find out exactly WHERE our property is. Wouldn’t want to put in a fence or a shed on someone elses land and it all looks the same.

I can’t believe it’s only Tuesday. This week has been too dang long already.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

