90 pounds down now

I had an amazing yoga class last night. Honestly, I was pretty tired after that long hike yesterday, but still, the class was the best I’ve ever, ever been to. Next week I want to take it a little easier on my run/walk so I can get even more out of it.

I’ll take a picture next time I go because I want you to see the view. There’s a wall of windows looking out at the mountain with fields in the foreground where sand hill cranes wander around, pecking at the ground. Simply stunning.

I had a hard time closing my eyes because I wanted to hungrily stare out the window at the view! I had hoped we’d be outside in the courtyard, where they practice when it’s warm for most of the year, but alas, not this time.

I’m giddy with excitement about this class! There were 7 of us, 6 older than me, 1 younger, and they were ALL great people. They were so warm and friendly with each other, and while this was a very focused class, there were often times that people would make jokes, ask questions, or talk for a moment. And it was no big deal! Not like any of the yoga classes I attended in Seattle-where you’re as quiet as if in church.

The teacher was great. She explained things, but not overly so, and she was constantly pointing out the correct position so you don’t hurt yourself, which sadly, I rarely see teachers do. That’s something I do know about-proper form. I really don’t like it when a teacher who’s been teaching for years instructs you to move in such a way that you’ll possible injure yourself. I’m all for knowledge in a yoga teacher.

The best part (other than the view)was all of the extras we got to enjoy. We opened with a chant. Jennifer, the instructor, handed out little papers that told what we’d sing and what it meant, which was a really nice touch. She did hands on adjustments (Something else I rarely see.). We did the full 90 minutes (I’ve never taken a class that long and I was a little scared of it.) and then because we had the luxury of a long class, we got to spend about 10 minutes in Savasana, just relaxing, without the instructor constantly talking and telling us to relax. I love that!

I heard her moving around the room during Savasana and wondered what she was doing and then….she placed a flax seed eye pillow over my eyes. Wow. It fell off, so she gently adjusted my head so it would stay and then went on. I lay there, smelling the lavender and listening to the soft ambient music and I knew that this was MY kind of class.

And then it got better! At the end of Savasana (not sure I’m spelling that right), she read us an essay on compassion and other good things, which I barely heard because I kept thinking, DANG that’s a GREAT IDEA!

Then we sat back up and did another chant! Seriously, that was a rockin’ great class. I want to live in that class. I’ll be going on Wednesday evenings now. It’s very close to my home and I love that because my depth of vision is caput now and it’s hard to drive at night. So close is great.

In other news, I found out I can have several cheeses! (I’m sorry I’m all about the !’s today.) Cheddar, Blue Cheese and a few others. Not mozzarella, which I had noticed was a problem. With every new food I find I can eat and remain symptom free, I feel my whole world opens up.

Oh yeah! I’ve lost 90 pounds!!! That’s crazy talk, but good crazy talk. I’m at 193 now, which stuns me. You’d think I’d be hungry and suffering and all. My mind is mostly confused all the time now. How can I be so happy, having so much fun outside and in classes, eating all the time, and still losing weight? It’s a puzzler. But I’m obviously pleased.

I know I’m rambling on, but one more thing. I’ve been eating the BEST “ice cream”. I had some after yoga class last night and it was to die for. In a food processor (Or with a little hand held blender or a regular blender) I add frozen fruit, almond milk, a few whole almonds and a little water and blend. That’s it. I get a huge bowl of “ice cream” and it’s to die for. Last night I had banana, mango, papaya, pineapple, strawberry, almond. Yummm

I use bananas with brown spots on them because they’re better for my stomach. I cut them up into little sections and freeze them on a plate, then dump them into a baggie and they’re ready when I am. I put about a banana’s worth in the food processor and add another cup of frozen berries or mixed fruits, 1/2 cup of almond milk and about 1/2 cup of water. I just dribble in water when it seems like it needs a bit more liquid as it’s mixing. My whole big bowl of ice cream was about 250 calories.

Sometimes I make up a batch and load it into big tupperware type containers, and when we want a treat, we pop the whole bowl in the microwave for about a minute until it’s soft enough to hack off a section. I like it softer so I leave it in for about 2 minutes.

It’s a wonderful treat when it’s warm out, after a run or a workout, and it’s a heck of a lot funner way to eat fruit!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 90 pounds down now

  1. shauna says:

    “How can I be so happy, having so much fun outside and in classes, eating all the time, and still losing weight? It’s a puzzler.” – you’ve hit the jackpot, baby! πŸ™‚

    congrats on your 90lb milestone, so proud πŸ™‚ and your yoga class sounds beyond amazing! xx

Say Hi!

