Last post on this topic-I’ll try anyway

I’m sure you’re sick of all of this food/reaction stuff. So am I.

I guess it wasn’t the apple but the oats that did me in yesterday. This morning, I still feel like three strong men took turns punching my guts. I guess that sometimes, the way it works is it SEEMS like you got away with eating something but on your next meal, as that meal is processing, gutty parts open up to receive the food and the little buggie things that are going nuts, having a party eating up the gluten you gave them in the form of oats, climb up into the upper bowel and wave their pointy little sticks at you. Or poke you in sensitive belly areas.

I’ve known about the Crohn’s for 15 months officially and have dealt with it since I was 40. But you know, it was easier when I was mainlining junky foods and doing a lot of inside work where I was conveniently close to a bathroom at all times.

Now that I’m outside, DOING things all the time and doing them with people, it has become quite a problem. And the healthier I eat, giving my body a rest from the bludgeoning of bad foods, when I do eat something that isn’t good for me (dairy/gluten/any sugars) it reacts strongly and it doesn’t feel good, and that’s a big understatement.

Since the son was diagnosed with diabetes I’ve been eating a lot of dairy, strong coffee and oats. So I’ve basically been poisoning myself, only now, I NOTICE it all the time because it’s interfering with my life in a big way. So actually, I should thank the disease, because otherwise, I would have carried on in my style of constant overeating until I ended up in the hospital having half of my colon removed.

I always felt like I was “lucky” that I didn’t have to be on a strict diet like some people I know. I guess I’m not so lucky. I thank the good Lord that I was already almost there so there won’t be too many changes to make. But it’s not going to be all uber easy or anything. Fortunately my “pit bull” personality and tendencies come in handy here because I’m determined to make it all work out. This is just me, it’s what’s in my life, it’s what I have to deal with, but I absolutely CAN handle it.

Hours of searching last night, uncovered the whole scoop on the topic I had been carefully avoiding. The Specific Carbohydrate Diet or SCD. I ordered the book, “Breaking the Vicious Cycle” and am watching videos on Youtube about how to do really funky things with pork rinds. I’m learning.

And on another topic, this is a funny cartoon about the craziness of runners.

Last week I missed the yoga class I wanted to go to. Tonight is my first class down in the north valley, with a small group I found on Meetup. And I mean SMALL. Tonight, so far as I know, it’s going to be just me and the instructor, though I guess usually there are 3-4 people there. I’m thinking it’s going to be really great because it’s such a small group, or it’ll be really bad. Social things make me uncomfortable, and NEW things make me feel like a kindergartner on my first day of school.

I’ll just get this one class out of the way and then it won’t be new anymore.

Ohm.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

