Stupid Apples

I’ve had NO stomach problems for 4 days. That’s about 4 days of goodness after 11 years of daily problems. It is good. Very good. I’m on medication and have been for about 15 months now-the first medication I’ve ever taken in my adult life. I’m hoping it will be the last too, but that’s pretty silly. Still, a girl can hope.

It seems I can eat oatmeal, almond milk and almonds and that’s HUGELY happy in my world. I can eat plums and lettuce and all meats, even slightly spicy sausage and hot links, which I wasn’t sure about.

Apples? No. I love apples but it’s a big NO on the apples. I discovered this afternoon what I’ve suspected for about a DECADE (because I’m just that stupid to not put all of the facts together) that apples are poison to me. I.E.: Today, an “eventful” almost 7 mile walk after eating a big apple. My guts are still aching and I’m tired of running to the bathroom. And by the bathroom, of course I mean every shrub between here and the hill 4 miles in the distance.

So, we’re learning.

Hey, when I started out walking for my first exercise, 15 months ago, I was doing 30 minute miles. Today I did 4 miles in about 17:20 each and then the last 2 miles, when things got hurty I slowed down to 18:30, but dang, that’s cool improvement!

Husband left this morning for Detroit for 2 weeks after one day home. We had a ton of fun on that one day though. He’s all blue and sad and lonely now, because hey, why wouldn’t he be? I’m pretty awesome and all. He’s frantically trying to find me a cheap ticket in the next few days so I can fly out there at midnight or some crack-crazy hour. Yeah, he loves me.

But it’s all sunny here and pretty here and I want to stay home, she whined. Ah well, we shall see.

Sooo, I’ve lost 88 pounds now. I’ve developed a new way of looking at the pounds in that I kind of am just “noticing” it without caring much about it. I’m all done working with my trainer, Pamela of Thrive Personal Fitness, and the last thing she did for me was to make up a chart I could hang on the wall showing me losing 1/2 pound a week until October, when I might or might not be at 178. It’s good to have it all laid out like that.

What’s actually happening is that I step on the scale every morning for about 2 weeks in a row and the number is pretty much not budging, then it’ll go down a pound and then another 2-3 weeks will pass and it’ll go down another pound. I’m not changing anything, I’m just eating about 1700 calories a day and walking/running/yoga to the tune of 500 calories burned every day. Sometimes it’s more, sometimes less. It all averages out.

Because I don’t really care a lot if I lose a lot more, or even if I lose, I’m sort of detached from it. Though, I’m now at 195 and that seems…I don’t know, kind of far under 200, so I’m feeling like, hmm, this is working. But I’m also OK if I didn’t lose anymore pounds. I just can see that each time I lose another 3 or so, I’m so much fitter and feel better and all.

I like the idea of thinking in terms of 1/2 pound lost per week, because while I’m not actually focusing on losing that 1/2 pounds, I’m aware that if I eat well and exercise, that EVENTUALLY, I’ll probably lose 1 or 2 pounds in a month and that seems just fine by me.

Does it make any sense if I say that I don’t feel I’m mentally focused on the weight loss for the first time in my life? I’m focused on life the way I want to live it, being active every day and eating only healthy foods. It honestly doesn’t seem challenging. It helps that I don’t eat sugar or flours or processed foods because that keeps me from longing for those very things. It’s like they’re dead to me. (It also helps that the grains are horrible for my inner workings. Sigh.)

Anyway, things seem to be moving along. I don’t have much to say today. I think I’m all talked out, or, because of the apple, maybe I’m just all WRUNG out.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

