Plums and Running

Today I had a great Meetup run with just one other person but she was a full-out runner (no walking) so it was a challenge and I liked it. For me, we ran 5, walked 1 for the 3 miles and talked the whole way.

I’ve been meeting some really lovely people out on these runs and I’ve come to shockingly discovery that I DO like running with people!

I know. I was surprised too. There’s something about running with others that makes the time just fly by, to the point where you almost can’t even remember you were out running. That’s pretty sweet.

I do have to trade off my lovely quiet-my thinking time, but you know-I’m not THAT fascinating. It’s fun to hear other people talk sometimes. (Yes, I talk to myself when I’m walking. Actually I whisper to myself, so that’s not quite crazy, right?) Just to be with other people to whom fitness is important, that right there is a really huge benefit to running with others. Being reminded that there are other people in the world who want to be fit and have fun. That’s huge to me.

OK, the big news: I can eat plums!!! I’m so excited. At this point, if I can just eat 3 or 4 foods I really want: Oats, apples, bananas and plums, in addition to meats and lettuce, I’ll be pretty happy. And that statement right there is pretty sad, but I’ll take what I can get.

This morning, I did 3 miles run with the Meetup group (My runkeeper only logged 2 miles and I’m pretty ticked at it.) and after I got back home, it was just too heavenly outside to stay in. So I drank some water and headed back out for another 7 1/2 miles! I ran about 2 of that, and walked the rest and it was divine. Loved it. Sun shining, birds singing. A nice way to spend a Saturday morning.

I’ve decided to calm the heck down and stop projecting forward into next week, next month, next year about what will be happening-can I do this? Can I do that? I drive me out of my mind sometimes.

I LIKE running 4 days a week, I LIKE doing yoga 3 days a week and I LOVE walking, whenever I can. I think the problem is that, laying my new activity levels along the activity levels of the old me=a big fat ZERO, I feel like I’m doing something wrong by wanting to be on the move all the time. I’ve made a big leap in fitness lately and I just want to be out there, enjoying. I think that’s perfectly normal. Putting the whole picture into perspective helps. I mean, I’m retired. I can do what I want in my free time!

The whole plum thing? So great! Because I ate plums and didn’t poop my way across the desert!!! I know. TMI. Finding out that there are foods that have been seriously bothering my digestive system means that by ruling those out, I’ll feel so much better and have so much energy. A careful study of my diet has revealed that I’ve been eating just about everything I shouldn’t be. In fact all of my favorite foods are irritants: bananas, apples, oats, nuts, peanut butter, tomatoes, cucumbers, dairy, vinegar, lots of spices, grains, legumes, zucchini. Oye to the freakin’ Vye.

But….now I’ve discovered plums work for me. And coffee! Thank the good Lord on the coffee. I know that eggs are like a time bomb. My goal is to focus on the things I CAN eat and try not to get my panties in a twist about what I can’t eat. Honestly, as much as I adore hot peppers, if they’re making me feel like crap and also making me crap, I’ll give them up. Again, TMI.

I’ve noticed in just the past 2 days, by weeding out the things that are bothering me, my energy levels are soaring. To think that in a few months I might not have these ongoing problems and that I might be strong and fit too! I’m sooooo excited.

Hubby is coming home tonight for ONE day. We’re going to head out for a hike in the morning after church. I’m trying to figure out how I can fit about 72 hours of fun into one 36 hour period because he’s leaving again for another 2 weeks on Monday morning. I’m pretty fun, I think I can do it 🙂

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

