Changes are afoot…

Writing helps me clarify my muddled mind. Writing about exercise and my frustrations yesterday helped me to see what’s going on. When I started out losing weight, I promised myself that if something was making me unhappy, I’d look at it. So I did.

What changed for me a few weeks ago was that I decided I really wanted to move up in the running to take on the 10K distance. But I also want to become a yoga instructor. The problem is that those 2 items together=too much work=frustration and unhappiness. That’s not what I want.

Plus, I need a plan of action that I can keep up, for a lifetime. That’s more important than anything. I need a good balance that works for ME.

I’ve decided to roll back the running to stay at the 5K distance. I truly want to do more, but not at the cost of dinking with the rest of my life. So there it is. I’m going back on the Couch to 5K program. The yoga is more important and it takes some effort and time. Running overly much tires me out to the point where I have to start swapping out things in my life in order to have the energy to do other things.

So I need to accept it. I’m not 25 anymore. Mores the pity. Maybe later, in true full-on retirement, there will be time and space for more running, but not at this very moment. I’m putting it on the calender: 3 days a week of running, including my 2 days with the Meetup group when the running is really slowed down. I think I can be happy with that. OK, maybe in a few days I’ll be happy with that.

Second, I found out that grains have something called “lectins” that can produce autoimmune reactions. I have both MS and Crohns (aren’t I the lucky girl) and I’ve definitely noticed some…shall we say STRONG reactions after I’ve eaten certain foods. But I could never put my finger on just what things trigger problems. I’ve cut so far back on the other grains as to be almost non-existent, but apparently dairy, nuts and legumes and oats can also cause problems. After I’ve eaten cheese? It’s bad. Let’s just leave it at that.

This also explains why the MS has improved so drastically this year. Moving away from chips, breads, etc has allowed the inflammation to stay at a low level. I find that fascinating.

So I’m on a mission. I’m going to cut out all of the suspects for one week, then take on one at a time and eat a lot of it and see what happens. See which ones bother me. I think the oats are alright and I really, really, really, really want that to be true. I really do. I love my oats.

But I’m thinking the dairy is going to be the culprit. Can you hear my very soul sigh? Oye.

I missed the yoga class I wanted to attend last night. I was at the Doctor’s office with my son. He’s off the insulin! His diet is so good now that he’s managing to produce his own insulin. Excellent news. He only has to take one pill a day. There are a few other possible issues that would be terrifying to face, but we won’t know about them for a few months, and right now, things look alright, so I’m going to try and not worry.

The wind has finally stopped blowing and it’s sunny and beautiful out there today. I’m going to take me a nice little walk. I hope you have a perfectly fabulous day!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes are afoot…

  1. Kylie says:

    Great idea with working out the culprit foods. I am about to start doing the same with my Naturopath.
    And YAY for your son coming off the insulin. That is amazing news.

Say Hi!

