Juggling the Time Space Continuem

I kept thinking my waist felt so much smaller, more sunken in. My size 12 jeans I can button up now, and could wear, if it weren’t for my Costco-sized muffin top.

So I feel smaller, and yet I haven’t lost a pound for weeks. 2-3 weeks I think. Well, I had taken all of my measurements when I was in Michigan, so I grabbed the tape measure to see if there was any change at all.

Dang! I lost 1″ off my hips, 1″ off my waist, 1″ off my chest, 1/2″ off one arm and 1/4″ off the other. And no pounds! Wow. So now I’m a believer. Muscle weighs more than fat, and blah blah blah. So hey, I’ve been gaining muscle and losing fat. Who knew?

I’ve been doing yoga about 3-4 times a week, running 4 days, walking 2. OK, on my “rest day” I walked 7 miles and I’m hear to tell you that was a grand mistake. Because the past 2 running days have sucked big time. I’ve been exhausted. I finally figured out why. Yes, that’s exactly how unobservant I can be about things I don’t want to observe.

I’ve been spending this whole day working, not walking, not running, not yoga-ing. I feel better but I’m not happy because I WANT to do something. It’s sunny outside. I’m going mad! But I’m taking a bloody rest day.

Almost. Tonight, I’m trying to go to a 90 minute gentle yoga class. Trying to work that out. It’s been planned all week long and I’m sure it’ll be a pleasant cross-training sort of deal.

I was talking to Renee yesterday about my desire to do it all, with no limits, but that I’m too old for that. She said it very clearly for me: My mind wants to do all sorts of things but my body is at that age where it’s simply not going to keep up with all of the delightful things my body wants to do. Which is a huge not-fair-at-all kind of thing.

I’m trying to decide on a good, clear, healthy schedule. I put a calendar up on the wall. Yes, I’m being official and all. I have 2 Meetup run days to attend each week, but those are just 3-4 miles of very easy walk/run. I also want to do my yoga practice 4-5 days a week. It’s an excellent relaxer but it also really kicks my muscles into gear. Hence the inches lost. I also want to run my normal 40 minutes a couple of times a week.

Here’s the deal: I want to walk every day. I want to run every day. I want to hike every day. I want to do yoga everyday. And I can’t do it all. But I love it all so much! I know that’s much of an improvement over last year, when all I wanted to do was watch TV and eat. But I feel like I’ve opened a treasure box and lots of fabu things are there waiting for me to do. And let’s not even talk about biking, which I’m starting to LOVE.

My first thought is that maybe I should just limit the running to a 5K distance and enjoy those races and not go up in distance. That’s what I think my best bet is. Enjoy the yoga training and practice, walk, bike and hike but move yoga more to the forefront with running being a nice even partner.

You’d think this is a new thing with me, obsessing over the things I love. But no, I pretty much do that in all of life. Typically I get 3x more things done than a normal person because I’m so crazy to do anything I can get my hands on. Truly I wish I was more laid back. But then, where would the fun be in that?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

