“Fat Head” the documentary

Remember the documentary, “Supersize Me?” Well, “Fat Head” is the other side of the story and I think it’s simply amazing! Tom Naughton answers a LOT of questions and twisting of data that Morgan Spurlock brought up in his “Supersize Me” documentary. By the way, you can watch “Fat Head” on instant view on NetFlix!

Our whole family watched the movie and it cemented for me, what we’ve experienced first hand, this past 2 months, since diabetes crept into our family in a big way.

Naughton also took on the fast food industry, but he did it, assuming that we humans have a BRAIN and can make choices for ourselves. He too ate nothing but fast food for a month, and he LOST 12 pounds, his blood work remained the same or improved. His results stunned his doctor.

Please, if you have simple carbs in your diet, and a lot of them, like I did, up until 2 months ago, do yourself a favor and watch this video. It’s just so much easier to be healthy and to lose weight, if you stay away from the bread, potatoes, rice and other processed crap foods.

Our family diet is: Fruits, veggies (tons), all meats, all dairy, no low-fat products. I buy whole-wheat “slim rounds” (100 cals, 22 carbs I think), and a pack of 6 will last our family of 4 for about 2-3 weeks. We have to keep them in the freezer so they won’t go bad. That’s how little processed foods we eat now. And we’re all so much happier.

The “Fat Head” film talks about how high carb eating brings on depression. I wish you could see my son now, compared to how he’s been for the past 5 years. He’s happy! It’s simply amazing what good food can do for your body and mind.

Tom Naughton also has a blog I’m going to start following.

I hope you watch this movie. I really do.

In other news. My “Slow Trail Runners/Beginning Runners” Meet Up group is going gangbusters!!

We’re meeting on Saturday mornings and then again on Thursday afternoons-whoever wants to. If no one shows up, I go alone.

On Saturday we did day one, week 1 of the Couch to 5K program: walk a little, run a little. That seemed to work. I imagine it’ll evolve over time and we’ll figure it all out There are now 16 members. I think that this group is a group that needs to exist. Too many of us don’t feel like going out there to run because we know we couldn’t keep up with a group, so we might as well go on our own. Only then we don’t.

I’m starting 2 yoga classes at 2 different studios. Wednesday is my first class. Soooo excited! I do my own practice at home, 5 days a week-at least that’s my goal. Sometimes I can’t make the whole 5 days happen, but I focus on that intent.

Lastly, my friend, Renee of Low Fat Pie is in town, from the Netherlands!!! (Follow her at @lowfatpie) She’s a saucy New Mexico girl-her family is all here. Lucky for me! I’m so excited to get to see her this week before she heads off across the state to Farmington. There will be pictures!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

