Running the Sahara Film

We watched this movie, Running the Sahara, on Netflix (instant play) and wow, did it clarify my mindset about exercise.

Three ultra runners, one who had only run for 2 years, ran across the entire Sahara desert in 110 days. They did TWO marathons, plus, every single day. EVERY DAY.

There’s also a blog associated with their experiences throughout the run. You can find their thoughts here.

They start off the film by saying that anyone, ANYONE can run a marathon. That everyone is capable of more than they think they are.

Then they proceeded to run 4300 miles. That made me think. It made me really think.

At one point, long ago, I was training to be a personal coach, so I had to take a lot of classes on how to re-frame situations you’re dealing with. I learned how to take a goal you need/want to achieve, and blow it so out of proportion that it becomes a quest instead of just a goal. And that’s a very good thing, though at first glance it may seem daunting.

That’s one reason I want to run and run big. It’s one reason I want to teach yoga as opposed to taking a class here and there. Working toward a grand cause or a big life-changing mission that can affect others in a good way is one way to take your task and make it lovely and important and so special that you wouldn’t dream of quitting. Does that make sense?

In watching Run the Sahara, I could see that concept at play. They did it and I benefit from their crazy passion to achieve this goal. Yesterday when I was out running 3 miles in my desert, I thought of those men. I looked down the road and thought, you know what? It’s 3 miles. Yes, I didn’t sleep much the night before, and I’m so tired, but it’s 3 miles. It’s the Albuquerque desert and it’s not quite 60 degrees. It’s not the 120 degree Sahara.

And I enjoyed it so much more. Because in that moment I was reminded that yes, my body COULD achieve this. I COULD look at what I can do, however much that is, and I could expand my thinking to believe that what I want to do is possible to do. It’s wholly possible.

If you think you can do a thing or you think you can’t do a thing, both are entirely true. I want to keep my eye on the big, grand picture. And know that I can do the things I dream of doing. Because they are entirely possible.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running the Sahara Film

  1. You are makin’ me want to try the Netflix thing! I know they have TONS of documentaries I’d be interested in. I’ll check it out!

Say Hi!

