Yoga!

I told you so. I think I’m going to start the training to become a Yoga instructor! I’m particularly interested in “YogaFit”, a program developed by Beth Shaw. It costs around $2000 to become an instructor, but wonderfully, I can take the YogaFit instruction here in Albuquerque, 1 series at a time, months apart-4 series in all. But, after I take the first series and do 8 hours of community service teaching, I’m all good to teach that basic series! I’d love to do the 8 hours for the Multiple Sclerosis society here in town.

As I mentioned before, I’ve wanted to immerse myself in yoga, and teach, for so many years. I first thought of it when I was around 30, and people, that’s a looong time ago. I have Beth Shaw’s YogaFit book and the YogaFit Level One Training System DVD, which I bought about 6 months ago when I was once again yearning to teach. I think I’ve been baby-stepping toward this for a long time. And now, I’m not scared. I want to move forward. I’m fit enough. I feel like I can do it and like I belong.

I’m so excited!! I cannot believe how losing weight opens up your whole world. When I hear people say that they don’t mind being really overweight because they can still “do active things”, I realize now that that’s true on only a very small level.

Last year, because of the MS, I really had to watch my activity levels so as to not wipe myself out completely. I had to juggle everything. A 3 mile walk was exhausting-there’s no way I could have done anything on top of that. As I’ve lost the weight, I’ve been able to be more active each month, to the point that now, I can do multiple things EVERY day and I’m just fine. I feel great!

Yesterday I did a 20 minute strength workout and following it by a 20 minute yoga workout and then in the afternoon did a 3.25 mile run/walk with my husband (who, by the way, just completed week 1 of the Couch to 5K program. Yay!) The day before, I did a 40 minute Yoga Booty Ballet class, then later in the day a 20 minute Yoga workout and still later, a 40 minute run, followed by another hour + long walk. Me! I did that! This is a far, far, far cry from my life a little over a year ago, when I often had to spend at least one day a week in bed because I was so sick from the MS.

For me, I’m finding that the movement, the exercise, is almost miraculous. It keeps the inflammation down in my body. Which is really amazing and I never would have thought of that. I always take one rest day where I do nothing but…rest. The next morning, my weight is always up by 2-3 pounds and I’m not feeling at the top of my game. It takes some movement to flush my body out and then I start picking up again. That’s how much the exercise keeps me on track. It buys me a life, and it’s a GREAT LIFE!

I always like to remind people that I have this problem, because I’m sure you have your big problems too, things that make it really hard to fit in a work-out. But truly, being healthy changes your whole life and all of your relationships.

It’s hard, hard, hard work because there’s so much mental growth and courage that has to come along as you lose weight and your outlook on life and your relationships change. But…it’s so worth it.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yoga!

  1. Jennifer says:

    That is great Katie! You sure are a go-getter type personality, and I think you’d do great at motivating yoga students to do and feel their best. Good luck!

  2. Sara says:

    Hello! I’ve been reading for a while but have never commented. I had to chime in today because I love this post so much! I am also beginning to experience how exercise has the power to transform our lives, and it is truly amazing. Congrats on your decision to pursue yoga certification! Keep up the great work…and the writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Sara!! I’m so glad to hear that exercise is making your life that much better too. It’s so simple isn’t it? Sooo hard to start, but the further you get into exercise, the more you want it, the better you feel and it’s like a perfect circle ๐Ÿ™‚

Say Hi!

