DVD workouts are now a “Can Do”!

I can’t believe how much stronger I am this year. I feel like I’m using someone else’s body and I like it very much.

Yesterday I did the Yoga Booty Class from Beachbody. Today I did Valerie Bertinelli’s “Losing It” DVD-the 20 minute class was plenty enough for me. I’m still sore from my Beachbody class yesterday. I’ll take on the 40 minute class in another month or so.

The thing is, the running and strength training I’ve been doing seems to have made me a lot stronger and I’ve made an upturn in my capability just lately. And I love it!

I did the “Losing It” 20 minute class (tons of lunges) and then put in one of my favorite Yoga DVD’s, a 20 minute class I got with a mat and yoga block. I feel so great, so peaceful now.

This afternoon I’m going out for an easy run with 2 people in my new Meetup group who are new to running/or slower runners so it’s going to be a nice, fun run with a lot of walking, I would imagine.

I’m finding I want to work harder and yet it doesn’t seem “killer” hard, just hard. It took a year to get to this point. I’m glad I didn’t rush it.

My goal this year is to get really fit and I’m excited that now it doesn’t seem as overall horribly hard as it’s been at times.

I was so shocked yesterday when I went out for my 40 minute run (run 10, walk 1) because I was running along at a 11:30 pace for a whole mile, then a 12:30 pace for another mile and the last mile + was landing between 12:30 and 13:30. And it wasn’t hard! Woo hoo!

Now? My mind is starting to really play on the possibility of taking yoga teacher training in the future. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for at least a decade. At this moment, I can’t truly see it but I know me and I know that the more I’m thinking about something, the more likely it is to happen. I’m healthy now, I adore yoga, there’s nothing keeping me from it except maybe $1500 or so and a good solid 6 months or more for the training. Hmm. Maybe that’s what I’ll do as a huge reward for hitting my goal later this summer. I’ll think on it.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DVD workouts are now a “Can Do”!

  1. megan says:

    I really like your blog. I don’t know how I ran across it, but I’m currently doing C25K (for the 3rd of 4th time – I usually start again every spring and build back up). I am also trying to transition our eating to more of a GI diet, so I like your grocery list.

    Keep up the good work, and you are a very inspiring person. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Megan! I was wondering, do you have a race in mind that you’d like to run? A 10K you’ve signed up for or are thinking of?

      • megan says:

        Hi!

        No, no race in mind. I mainly come back to running because it just makes me feel GREAT! I also try to take a couple yoga classes each week, and I also do dvds – right now I am loving Tracie Long workouts, and Core Fusion.

      • Thanks! I added the “Core Fusion Energy Flow Yoga” to my wish list. It looks good!

  2. megan says:

    CF Energy Yoga Flow is a good one! It’s also great in that it has 10 min segments, so you can mix and match or do it all at once…great as a stretch before/after running too. Tough, but fun to work up to.

    Congrats on deciding to become a yoga teacher!

Say Hi!

