Great start to the week!

I bought a running skirt!!! I’ve sooo wanted one. The good news is that after running in the cold for months in running pants, wearing a skirt with the attached undershorts makes me feel like I’m a little kid scampering around naked outside.

Well, I’m inside right now. It’s 18 degrees at the moment but will get up to 55 today. As soon as it gets a little warmer I’m heading out the door in my skirt. The bad news is that while I think my legs look good, there’s cottage cheese on the front of my thighs that wasn’t there when I was running 10 years ago. If I’m remembering correctly, it’s the last 20 pounds I need to lose that will remove the cottage cheese. Either that, or my legs are a decade older and this is as good as it’s going to get. Meh.

Nevertheless, when I’m out running in the desert by myself, I’m going to imagine I look great! I cannot wait for the warm days of summer. Can’t wait.

You know I mentioned I started a Meet Up group for slow/beginner trail runners? I think I started it on Thursday but Meet-Up holds the group for 3 days before it releases to the general public. Once it was released to the public, people started joining up right away! This morning there are 9 members, 3 of which live in my huge neighborhood where there are about 2000 homes perched on the edge of the desert and the very edge of Albuquerque.

Several people are writing to me, thanking me for starting this group because they too are slow. Seriously, that tickles me to death. So far, the group is made up of those of us who are slow and/or want to lose a little weight.
I suspected that there must be a lot of people out there like me who want to run with others but who are uncomfortable to do so because they know they’ll be left behind as soon as the group starts running.

On Saturday is our second run. Husband will be out of town so he can’t come, but, counting me, there are 6 of us planning to run together. Meet Up is famous for people signing up and then not coming, but you know what? It’s just great that those of us on the West side of Albuquerque even have to opportunity to TRY to show up. I was frankly surprised that so many people wanted to come!

It just goes to remind me that I need to think outside the box. I’ve longed to join a running group for so many years but I knew that no matter how much I trained, I just didn’t seem to fit in. What a much better idea to just design a new box!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great start to the week!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’ll be anxious to hear how many show up for your Meet Up! Re-thinking the box definitely sounds like the way to go!

  2. Good on you for starting a Meet Up group (I love Meet Up by the way, it is very active here in Oz). I was part of a beginners Running Group before I got injured and loved it.

    • I’m a little nervous about it, but I think it’ll be OK. My sister has led a hiking Meetup group for a couple of years, plus one for movies/dinners. She loves it. I’m hoping it’ll go alright 🙂

Say Hi!

