First run for hubby today!

My husband is so fit, no question about it. He can climb mountains in 2 hours that take other people 6-9 hours. He’s come back to running over and over again over the years, but he only stuck it out for a few months at a time before he gets too busy to run-or before he got injured is more like it. But now, he wants to get into the running in a safe way, a way that’s safe for our age so that we can someday even do long runs with no problems at all.

But this time I’m going to stick with him and help him through the Couch to 5k, even if takes him 6 months to complete it. He really WANTS to run but pushes it so hard that he usually gets hurt or too worn out to continue. However, since he’s been able to see me complete the training for the 5k without becoming overwhelmed by the running, he thinks it would be a great way to go now.

So, I had my first Meet-Up group today! Yes, only Jeff and I came, but today, 3 people joined!!!! I really think I’m on to something. There are NOT a lot of running groups for those of us who are really slow or who are overweight and wanting to run but feel uncomfortable to get out there with a running group where the runners are used to 9 minute miles.

I went out and did the 30 minute program with Jeff and it was awesome but not really much of a workout. (OK, seriously, that was SO cool that I’m this fit!!) After our run, we went to REI so hubby could get some hiking pants and some of those clampy things that you put on your hiking shoes so you can tramp through the snow—-and I bought a RUNNING SKIRT!!!!

I’m so excited! It looks really good, but I still home some cottage cheese on my thighs. I think I remember from years back, that my legs firm up nicely after I’ve hit the 170’s. But hey, I’m going to just be happy with where I am for the moment. Anyway, that skirt feels amAZING! I can’t wait to wear it out for all my runs. Cannot wait!

So later in the day I went out for my normal run and I did the 40 minutes of running + 5 minute warm up and 5 minute cool down. It was WONDERFUL!! I felt like I could go on forever.

I’ve changed it up and Jeff and I are going to keep our running this way, from now on: Run 5 and walk 1. Seriously, I did 3 miles today in 40 minutes, which is about the same time I did in my 5k a few weeks ago when I was so exhausted afterward. But today? I felt great. There’s something about that 1 minute of walking that’s so great. 1 minute can be a total rest to your muscles. Who knew?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

