The Results of Eating no Simple Carbs

This is weird, and slightly terrifying. I’ve needed cheapo reading glasses for years now, so that’s nothing new. But, this past summer, all of a sudden my eyes went really blurry as we were driving in the car and I was looking into the distance.

One minute I could see in the distance, the next minute it was like someone had smeared oil over my eyes. I struggled with my vision over the next 5 months as it seemed to get worse and worse. Seriously, at one point I was reading books with a magnifying glass.

I’ve mentioned before that diabetes is rampant in my family, that I’m the only person out of 2 parents and 4 children who don’t have it. My blood sugar has always tested out in the 60 range or lower. I’d noticed over the past few years, when I’d test myself, it would be in the 80-90 range. A marked change.

I don’t know if I’m getting dumber as I age, but as careful as I am about watching my son’s health because he’s a 2x bone cancer survivor, I never put together all the signs that he was a diabetic in a BIG way, until it almost killed him. And that brings me to my eyes.

I was talking with a friend here in Michigan who also has diabetes and a very high blood sugar count. We were talking about her vision and I said, “Hmm, that’s so strange. My son’s eyes are also moving in and out of clairity: One day he can barely see, then one hour later, he can see better than he’s seen in years.” My friend told me that that’s the diabetes talking. That when your vision gets blurry, your blood sugar is high, it clears when your blood sugar goes down into the normal range.

Moment of silence here. I just stared at her. Gulp! Because that’s just what my eyes were doing all summer and fall long!

This past summer, around August, I stopped trying to lose weight for several months. I ate a LOT, LOT, LOT of carbs. I’d made a bit of a switch-up and was eating tons of carbs: potatoes, homemade bread, lots of rice. When I started losing again in November, I was still eating very heavy in the carbs.

My eyes got so bad that I finally went to the eye Doctor and spent a couple hundred dollars on glasses.

Enter my son’s diabetes. Because he had to change everything about the way he ate, the whole family changed our diets. As I dropped the simple carbs from my diet-which I did instantly-I immediately had more energy and stopped craving carbs.

I started counting carbs every day, learning to eat only good carbs in the form of whole foods: brown rice, veggies, fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, etc. I started dropping weight easily when I had been really struggling to lose.

I feel so much better now that I’ve changed my grocery list (in the page tabs above) to buying only those items. I never Jones for sugar or bread or tortilla chips. They aren’t a part of my life anymore. I find that if I don’t eat them, I don’t crave them and it all comes full circle, bringing me great health.

It’s one thing to not eat bad foods, it’s quite another to have no interest in them. I really do think that if everyone stopped eating junk foods, processed foods and simple carbs, not as many of us would be as tortured when we’re losing weight. It’s NO fun to constantly crave the very things you so desperately want. Taking those things out of the equation and out of your mind, changes everything.

Two weeks ago, I was running in my new glasses and I realized I was having a hard time seeing. Often when my MS kicks up, my vision gets blurry, but I felt wonderful so I didn’t know what was up. Finally, after hours that day, I took my glasses off to see how bad my vision was without the glasses and I could see great!

Since that day, I can’t wear my glasses anymore and I CAN see clearly, all the hills and trees in the distance. My reading vision is still crap, but that’s old age. The ONLY thing that’s changed in the past 6 weeks is my diet. That’s it.

The really scary thing to me is that my vision was becoming screwed up AFTER I’d already lost about 80 pounds, WHILE I was exercising every single day.

Because my son has the diabetes blood testing stuff, I can check my blood any time I want. It’s in the normal range and has dropped even more, since he was first diagnosed, but I wonder what it was all summer long, when I was eating so many simple carbs and my vision was so screwed up?

You are what you eat. I guess that’s what that saying means. You can eat yourself into a disease. I’ll tell you what, I have NO desire to eat things that could kill me. It’s not hard to turn down something full of sugar, something breaded. It’s not a “treat” to me. It’s scary stuff.

I realize I’m going to really have to watch my diet and my blood sugar and even then, I’m not sure if I’ve done so much damage over the past 10 years that I can escape diabetes. But I’m sure going to try.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Results of Eating no Simple Carbs

  1. shauna says:

    Wow that is really scary, thought-provoking stuff…

  2. Jennifer says:

    Wow! Who knew what a change it could make! I’d like to be able to NOT crave certain foods. Alas, I’ll do my best to limit them. 🙂

Say Hi!

