Why not consider a beginning running program?

Shauna Reid of “Diet Girl” fame, and running coach, Julia Jones, have started a great new web site to teach and encourage people who want to run. It’s called Up and Running and I think it’s an awesome idea!

They’re offering a great 5k program that’s involves eight weeks of workouts created by expert running coach Julia Jones, including downloadable workout plans. And this is just the beginning. They’re also going to offer 10K programs, Half-marathon and Marathon programs in the future. I’m going to sign up for the half marathon program as soon as they offer it.

So, check it out! I can’t tell you how happy I am that I did a beginning running program. It’s changed my life. I know it’ll change yours.

Today, I moved on to my10K training program! Wow. Sweat city. I ran 40 minutes total with 1 minute of walking sandwiched between each 10 minute running section. I ran 10 minutes more today than I’ve done to date. I’m here to tell you that 10 minutes is a freakishly long time. I was running on the treadmill because it’s a little cold and windy outside today. By the last 2 segments I was dialing down the speed-one arrow down for each 3 minutes. I’m not even going to tell you how slowly I was running because hey, I totally have SOME pride left.

But I did it, and now I’m feeling like a real runner!

I’ve sort of, kind of picked a 10K to run in Albuquerque. The “Chunky Monkey” run on July 18 at 7 p.m. The evening hour because it’s the high desert-so it’s cooler at 7 p.m. (I think that’s marvy. It’s kind of fun to think about an evening race.)

I can’t sign up for the race yet, because our travels are all over the place for a few months and I never know where we’re going to be until just a few weeks before we go. We think we’ve worked out that I can be home from July 1-21 but we’re still trying to figure out how to work out the July schedule because in July we have husband’s work travel/vacation/husband’s yearly family campout.

Nevertheless, this is my next race of choice that I’m going to be training for. I’ll wait until the end of June to actually sign up for it. If it turns out I can’t make this race, I’ll look for one in Seattle or Michigan. BUT, I’m going to train for a 10K, which is 6.2 miles. I’m excited!!!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why not consider a beginning running program?

  1. shauna says:

    Thank you sooo much! You are a star!!! 🙂

Say Hi!

