The Free “Lose It!” App

I love apps. I have about four running apps on my phone at the moment and have just started working with Runkeeper this week in combo with the Couch to 5K app. Runkeeper is pretty great! I set it to tell me my pace and my splits-though to be honest, I’m not sure what splits are. Going to look that up today.

I have multiple calorie logging apps as well but I found “Lose It!” today and it’s by far, my favorite. I’m a very visual person. I like pictures. This app gives you little pictures alongside the food you’ve logged: a yogurt cup, a blackberry. I KNOW that’s silly, but I like the pictures. It looks “funner” seeing my food in the log. Less boring maybe. Less technical.

Some of the food log apps I have don’t allow me to enter my exercise, so then I have to have an exercise app. “Lose it!” has both. It tells you how many calories you should eat for the day to lose say, 1 pound a week, then averages out the calories you’ve eaten with the calories you’ve burned off and lets you know exactly where you are all day long. Stay in your calorie range and you should lose that 1 pound a week. We all KNOW that, but many apps don’t seem to figure that all out.

It’s a real drag when I’ve eaten 1500 calories for the day and burned off ONE THOUSAND calories in a major hike and the app doesn’t acknowledge that and I honestly don’t know what to do. Should I eat more? Should I be happy that I’ve burned off 1000 calories that day? But then, doesn’t that mean my body got only a total of 500 calories to survive on? And doesn’t that mean that my body is going to be turning to my muscle for a quick snack, just to keep functioning? Confusing.

And that’s exactly why sometimes in the past year I’ve lost a slamming 2-4 pounds in some weeks. And that’s not a good thing. It’s very hard to earn that muscle and your body doesn’t just grab at your extra fat for the sustenance it needs, it goes for that muscle too. You lose muscle, you lose that major calorie burning machine. Muscle is important!

I’ve been seriously needing some way to monitor, exactly, the calories in vs the calories out so that I don’t eat too little (often my problem) when I walk or run too much (often my problem). The other thing is, I don’t want to do any actual WORK to figure stuff out. So I love this new app.

If you do use it, please “friend” me so we can support each other. I’m “Katie Johnson” and the email is katiejohnsonwriter@yahoo.com if you need to find me that way. If you don’t have a smart phone, you can still use the app, just do it online. It’s exactly the same program online. I think it’s better than the Livestrong program just because it’s so user friendly and…the pretty pictures!!!

For me, this is an awesome find. I very much want to not think about weight loss, I simply want to be ACCOUNTABLE. I believe in the science of calories in calories out. I want to focus on exercise and excellent eating this year vs the hugely looming thought of WEIGHT LOSS. This app puts my mind at ease so I can get on with life. As long as I’m accountable to my log and to my exercise, all of my weight issues will work themselves out.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Free “Lose It!” App

  1. June says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, but I’ve never left a reply. Since July I have gone from 249 to 187 pounds and am now trying to get to 155. I have enjoyed reading about your progress while losing my own weight. Thanks for posting the link to the “Lose It” website. I joined and tried to friend you, but the site couldn’t find your username.

    June in New Jersey

  2. Lisa says:

    I had the same dilemma recently…I use My Fitness Pal on my phone and I wasn’t sure if I should eat the 700 calories I burned in the gym, or not eat them. I realized that I would lose weight faster if I did NOT eat those extra calories. Losing weight means creating a deficit in calories (in a healthy way, no starvation). But that’s not always healthy (or feasible). I decided I would eat half of the calories I burned but try to save the other half to create a deficit. I’m not sure if the “half” plan is working yet but it’s easier to eat only half, then not eat any of it. 🙂

    • Lisa,
      OK that’s interesting. Will you let me know how it’s working for you as you progress? I do know from years past that your body does adapt-it’s so bloody efficient that way. If you’re working out a lot you’d think you could eat tons more but no, your body becomes efficient at using your calories and you really can’t eat all that you burn in exercise. I like your idea of eating half of the calories burned. I’m kinda sorta doing something along those lines. Sometimes, I swear, I feel like I need a college education just to figure this out!
      Katie

  3. Tenessa says:

    Hey,
    Have you tried the MyFitnessPal App? It accounts for your exercise and urges you to stay about 1200 net calories which it calculates for you. I’ve been using the website since October and have lost 45 lbs! I LOVE it and feel that using the journaling on there has been the key to my success!

Say Hi!

