A New Year Begins: the new focus

I feel as if I’ve been freed from prison this morning. Truly, I do. I’ve decided that today, February 9th, 2011, is going to be the true start of my second year of living a fit life.

Here are the things I’m focusing on:

Exercise every day in some form:
hiking, running, walking, swimming, lifting weights. Do something and have fun while doing it.

Eat a healthy, balanced breakfast every morning to start the day off right.

Log my calories every day on my phone app so that I’m aware of what I’m putting into my body every single day.

Run 3 days each week: Finish the Couch to 5K and begin the Bridge to 10K program with a goal in mind of running 60 minutes at a time, 3-5 days per week.

Take a rest day

Drink 8-10 glasses of water every day

Have protein at every meal

Stick with my basics
: Whole grains, proteins, vegetables, 2 fruits per day, nuts/seeds and nut butters,
salads, low-fat dairy.

Continue to limit simple carbs like the “whites”: bread, rice, potatoes, sugars to once every few months or so.

Challenge myself:

Try different things. At the moment, I’m thinking of scheduling another race for a little ways off in the distance, as something to work toward. Things like THAT excite me. A couple of friends from Seattle have invited me to join them in a 5 mile trail race on May 15. The way my husband’s schedule works, we never know when he’s going to be traveling and to where, but there’s at least a 50% chance we’ll be in WA state on May 15, so I’m going to go ahead and train for the 5 mile race. If I can’t be there for the race then I’ll look around wherever I am and find another race to do!

If I do all of these items on any given day, then I am a success and it was a successful day. From now on, these are going to be the things that define a “good day”.

The funny part of all of this is that these THINGS are my life! But, I’ve been so focused on losing the pounds that I’ve been unable to see how great my life is, how happy I am, how good I feel. If the pounds continue to fall off, fine. If they don’t, but I meet all of these items on my checklist, every day? Then it was a darned fine day!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

