New Trail Running Shoes=Bliss

I’ve been wearing the same running shoes for a long time. And by a long time, I mean an insanely long time. I usually have to sit down in the middle of a run and pour the sand out of my shoes before I can go on. They’re that broken down. Sad.

I was loath to buy new shoes because the past 2 pair I had actually worked and I didn’t believe I could find any other shoes that would. I have a looong past history of having blisters on one or two or three of my toes at all times. I figured that’s just the way it was, that I couldn’t do anything about it. I’d always be losing great hunks of skin and it HURT. I’d wrap up my toes and go back out. It took weeks to break in each pair of shoes so that maybe, MAYBE I wouldn’t get “the blisters” more than every once in awhile.

Then one day last year when my shoes just fell apart, my husband gave me a pair of sneakers that were a tad too small for him. I’m a cheap girl so I thought I’d try them instead of giving them to Goodwill. Well, I put those puppies on and went out walking for 6 miles that day and they felt GREAT. Why? Because of the toe box. And that’s what this post is all about. The “Toe Box”.

I learned that even though my feet are quite narrow, that for some reason, I need a wide toe box. And since I didn’t have a wide toe box, my toes were crushing into one another and developing horrid blisters.

I guess that most women’s shoes are a “B” width. Did you know that? They go up to a “C” a “D” or a “C/D” width though you have to search to find those widths.

So. I bought a pair of sneakers online. Something I never thought I’d do. Because, how can you tell if they’d even fit right? Well, maybe it was a stupid thing to do. I guess time will tell, no?

To start my search, I read Runner’s World Shoe Review of 2011. There, I found a lot of too-expensive shoes, but I learned a lot about what kind of shoe I wanted.

I learned that if you have problems with toe blisters, you’re wearing shoes that are too small. Doh! I wear a size 9 shoe. The advise I read was to go up 1/2 size and to get a wider shoe: a “C/D” or a “C” or a “D”. I did a search to find the best reviewed women’s shoe with a wide toe box. From that search, I chose my shoes—-trail running shoes! I only run trails and I love the trail running shoes but I so often end up with just road-running shoes because they’re on sale. These were great shoes AND they were on sale for $40!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

