Today’s run: Now brought to you by 5 degrees

It was 11 below zero in Albuquerque this morning! ELEVEN. The lowest temp in 40 years and colder than Alaska for a little while.

I was going to go running today if it was the last thing I ever did. Yesterday it being only 1 degree so I didn’t run. This morning I thought…CRAP…should have run yesterday!

But the weather people promised, they PROMISED it was going to be as high as 25 today. So I wrote and checked the weather on my iphone. Cleaned house and checked the weather. Wrote and checked the weather. Cooked and checked the weather.

When it was 11:30 and 5 degrees, I said “That’s the magic number!”

Honestly, I was a wee bit terrified. I mean, do your bits fall off in weather that cold or what? I wasn’t sure. So I put on tights, running pants, a “turtle” for my neck, 2 running tops, 2 pair of gloves, 1 hat and 2 hoodies and I was off.

It was seriously the best run I’ve had to date! Yes, it was cold out, but only my face was cold. I got so warm that halfway through I took down my hoodies and pulled my hat off. It was AWESOME out. The sky was clear blue and the sun was shining and yet it was freakishly cold.

I did day one, week 7 today. I was so excited to climb into week 7. I feel like I’m a real runner now. I did 25 minutes straight running today and felt so good I wanted to keep going. I didn’t though. I’m practicing being “reasonable”. I’m starting to think I’ll be OK in the 5K on Saturday the 12th.

In bad news, the hot water won’t run in the kitchen but it will all over the rest of the house. I guess 11 below is not good for the pipes. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that no major damage has been done and that it’ll thaw out all quietly and non-leakishly and all.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

