Up at 6:30 in maniac productive mode today

The house was/is so quiet. It’s faREEEEEZING outside, even though there’s only 1″ of snow on the ground from yesterday. UNM is closed for the second day in a row so both of my grown kids have no school, and daughter will work from home today. Traveling can get dicey here in Albuquerque in the ice/snow so usually things just shut down for 1-2 days a year so people can be safe. It’s kind of warm and fuzzy, actually.

I jumped out of bed this morning and in the quiet house, I:

Made a small pot of brown rice
Made a bowl of low-fat coleslaw
Made a huge bowl of sugar free jello (4 boxes of lime)
Filled the 5 gallon water jug with pitcher after pitcher of filtered water
Put on a small crock pot of black beans
Washed the dishes from last night
Made a shopping list though I’m not leaving the house!
Made a breakfast of oatmeal/rice milk and raw almonds
Made coffee. Drank coffee. Drank more coffee.

Nice way to start the day. I did that all in under an hour. I love seeing my husband’s face when he’s trying to do ONE thing and then must answer a question, or, heaven forbid, THINK about something. No can do. Everyone in this house makes fun of my extreme multi-tasking but it works for me!

Speaking of which. The reason I was doing all of those things might interest you, might help in your own planning.

I went to the store about a month ago and bought many, many of those cheap storage containers you can get at any grocery store for about $5 for a pack of 4. I bought big ones, medium ones and small ones. A lot of them. Now I keep just about everything in those puppies and it’s revolutionized the way I cook and the way we eat as a family.

I cut up green peppers and put them in a container, also dill pickles, olives, onions, cheese cubes and slices, freshly washed raw spinach and lettuce in large containers with a paper towel lining the bottom and through the middle to absorb moisture, mushrooms, shredded cheese, ALWAYS a big bowl of homemade colesaw, jello, beans, brown rice, leftover fish or whatever and any other ingredient that has to be cut up for meals. I hate the preparation part.

I LOVE it when I can open the fridge and pull out 5 containers and start throwing stuff together. Sometimes when I can’t face cooking I tell the others, “You’re on your own. Throw something together.” They always get excited by what they can create with things already prepared as they are. (I know, we’re a little lame.)

I want to start lowering my fat intake a bit. I think it’s been a little over the top the past few weeks. I have a great phone app that shows my calories eaten each day, plus, the percentage of carbs/fat/protein. I want to eat 50% complex carbs, 25% protein and 25% fat. So, to that end I’m on a mission to craft a perfect diet for me and my new running ways. I’m muddling my way through, learning a little more each day. I figure I’ll be already at the top of the game because I’m not eating breads/desert type things but honestly, I’m still working it all out.

I want to increase my grains: bulgar wheat (which I love, love, love, boiled up into chewy, plump grains, flavored with onion and garlic, salt and pepper!), oats, brown rice, quinoua, etc. I’m trying to find out the right balance of carbs to shoot for in a 1400-1600 calorie day. If you have a link, please share with me in the comments.

**OK, my trainer came to the rescue on this question! Apparently, for the 1400 calories I’m focusing on having each day, I’m supposed to have around 175 grams of carbs and around 88 g. of protein. I know that’s a little high in the protein for some people-especially the vegan community. But I’m working at building muscle and running/walking quite a bit and I don’t think it’s too high for me. I’m happy with it.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Up at 6:30 in maniac productive mode today

  1. Honestly, that practice right there is what has helped me lose the 90lbs and keep it off. There are always 20 options in my fridge and they are always the easiest and healthiest available. You’re right though, the prep is a bear but knowing you can throw together a marvelous salad without lifting a knife, that’s all worth it!

  2. I try to be that organized, but never quite succeed!

    Love quinoa! I have no idea what the protein count is but I know it’s a complete protein. I love throwing a handful into random recipes.

  3. I bought my first pack of quinoa this week but I have no idea what to do with it… LOL
    I love your idea re having everything organised in the fridge. hen I am back in my own kitchen I am going to do that. 🙂

Say Hi!

