Chilly Monday

I ditched y’all all weekend long. See how I am?

Husband left for Seattle on Sunday night so we were spending the weekend having fun. Not that blogging isn’t fun. But hey, he’s way funner.

Boy oh boy have I “kicked it up a notch”! Last week I went hiking with friends Wed-Saturday, every day between 9-12 miles! I’ve been doing the couch to 5k for 6 1/2 weeks now so I guess when I called upon my body to “hop to” and WORK, it responded BEautifully. And wow, did I have fun. FUN.

Today I headed out from my run, post haste, because the clouds were moving in and we’re looking at snow Tuesday and Wednesday with temps between 22-27-rare for our area. So, I wanted to get my workout in this morning before the weather went nuts. I finished my run and the sun had come out and I thought, you know what? I think I’ll hike awhile to enjoy the day because tomorrow, I may not be able to get outside.

In the end, I hiked 5 more miles on top of my 3.25 run. Hopped into the pickup as soon as I got home and went grocery shopping in my running clothes. Came home, put all that crap away and now…FINALLY at 1:18 I’m sitting down to spend the afternoon writing.

I was running this morning and thinking: OH! My 5k race is in 2 weeks minus 2 days and right now I’m almost ready to start week 7 of the Couch to 5k program and there are only 9 weeks total in that program and what am I going to do next??? (I think like that in loooong, unpunctuated sentences.)

So I was thinking. Well, maybe I’ll quit running after it’s done. Then I thought…hmm…maybe the same company has come out with a Couch to 10K app. I thought, oh, don’t be silly Katie, you don’t want to run that much.

Then I thought, do I? Do I?

I bought the new app and studied it and found that it’s another great program that picks up where the C25K grad leaves off, stepping you up a bit at a time until you’re running 60 minutes at a time.

I realized that’s what I want. I really want it. I want to just BE A RUNNER. I haven’t really thought of myself as a runner yet, because I only run 3 days a week. Which is goofy, I know. But today I thought….why don’t I turn my focus away from these last pounds and just throw myself in and have a BLAST and go back to being a runner for real, like I used to be, 10 years ago. Running 5-6 days a week and just loving it.

And I decided I will. And so I am. So there.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

