A new week begins

Isn’t it odd how long one single week can be when you’re involved in weight loss?

You lose a few pounds and you’re on TOP of the world and feel like there’s nothing you can’t do.

Gain a few pounds, from water weight even, and it feels like it’s all over. You’ll never make it in this weight loss game. And now you have like 3 days to lose those 2 pounds you gained, then another pound so you can at least count that you lost ONE pound for that week?

You know what I mean? It’s exhausting.

I’ve never been so conscious of the passing days as I have been since I started losing weight on Dec. 28 of 2010. Conversely, when I was just maintaining, from about August-mid November? Those were sweet, sweet days. I liked not thinking about it every bloody minute.

I want those days back.

I PLAN on getting into the 190’s by March 1. At that time I get to travel with hubs to Michigan, back home to Albuquerque, then on to Seattle during March/April. I’ll get to see a LOT of our friends. I’m looking forward to “relaxing” a bit then. Not focusing on losing during that time. At all.

I want time to do this whole weight loss thing. Maybe I’ll pick up again in the late fall of this year and go for another 10 pounds? Getting healthier with each passing year and all that jazz.

I figure that, in the future, if I DO decide to lose more weight, who knows, maybe in 3 years time I WILL be at 165. My mind cannot see that right now. I don’t want that right now. Do I think it would be a healthy weight for me? Maybe.

I think that time can be my friend. Will reveal how I feel, what I want. At 29.7% body fat, I figure I’m a heck-of-a lot better off than I was at 41% body fat. I think it’s just fine to take some time to work out the last issues of weight loss. A couple of years even.

What are YOUR plans? How are YOU approaching your weight loss?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new week begins

  1. Jennifer says:

    “Let’s just get this thing over with!” is how I seem to be approaching it. I want to reach a maintenance stage and then start living normally from there. Part of it is wanting to feel like I had accomplished the Big Picture Goal rather than just a part of it. Part of it is wanting to feel like I’m not giving up before the end. Part of it is wanting to go ahead and reward myself with new clothes that will be a final size rather than realizing I am continually swapping clothes that never seem to fit just right.

    But, you’re absolutely right. Taking a break in the middle is perfectly fine, especially if you need it for mental regeneration. The whole process is VERY exhausting, and a well-rested mind is just as important as a well-rested body. As long as you don’t gain (much) back what you lost while in the “regrouping” mode, it’s fine.

    And, if you decide that you are comfortable (and healthy) where you are, perhaps your hiatus becomes permanent and you never resume loss-mode. Just don’t get down on yourself. Aside, perhaps, from the mental anguish, you’re doing everything right. You’re eating well. You’re exercising. You’re being a good example for your kids and the way they see health and care for the body.

    Good luck!

Say Hi!

