I’m a size 13!!!

So I walked into the kitchen this morning and my daughter
said, “Why are wearing those old, baggy jeans?”
I said, “I bought these jeans like four weeks ago!”

And then the light dawned and I was happy. That’s such an understatement. Pretend that “happy” is like 3″ tall.

I’m so far away from a 12, it’s not funny. But my 14’s are huge. And this morning? I REMEMBERED that they also make size 13’s!!!! I know. It was a shock to me as well.

I’m seriously this dumb, that I didn’t remember there was an in-between size. So I took me down to ye olde mall and I bought 2 pair of jeans in size 13. One has some stretchy something in the denim that makes them snug to the butt, leg and calve, which I think is silly, but they fit now, and since they’re stretchy-snug, I thought they’d make great pants to wear as “transition” pants till I get to that 12.

Here’s the thing I really didn’t get. I have really skinny, long legs like my Dad did. I have a thick waist. I KNOW I said I thought I had all that sizing stuff figured out, the last time I went shopping, but I guess I really didn’t.

Apparently you’re supposed to just know (and most people do) that you have a thick waist but skinny legs and butt, or are like my daughter, with very curvy hips and butt but a tiny waist–so tiny that she has to sew a 2-3″ dart in all her pants at the waist, so they don’t gape terribly. So you learn to look at the labels and try on the sizes that are made for your body bits.

And if you put ten size 13’s in the same store, they’ll possibly buy 13 different fits and styles, all in a size 13. What fits one, would NEVER fit another. I think that’s fascinating. And weird that I just didn’t get that.

And then, this morning, I was changing and I looked in the mirror at my body and…I leaned in….I squinted…I was all, WHERE DID THAT FAT ON MY SIDES GO?? And then I saw that rolls that were on my stomach are gone! I still have lots, so don’t let’s get too excited, but seriously, for a crazy, sleepy minute, I thought maybe I had gotten confused and was looking at someone else’s body. In MY bathroom, no less. Which made me laugh.

So here’s the deal. No, I haven’t lost a pound since Christmas, but my body? She is different!!! Adding in 3 days a week of running 30 minutes a day, and doing about 10 strength training exercises? Son of a gun. It works!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m a size 13!!!

  1. Sarah says:

    Woohoo!!! So excited for you! You’ve worked so hard!

  2. Well done on dropping the size and the changing shape. what a wonderful feeling!

  3. Jennifer says:

    You’ve been complaining recently about not losing the pound or two you wanted to get closer to 199. But, you’re obviously making improvements — perhaps losing fat and gaining muscle mass with all the exercising you’ve been doing!

  4. Yay!!!!! Thank you, ladies!!!

  5. YAY! That’s really exciting! Congrats on the 13s!! 🙂

Say Hi!

