Not good times here in the Johnson house

It’s been a horrible few days. Let me get that out there right now. I spent most of the night in the ER with my 26 year old son who had had his first physical in awhile, with a new Dr. on Thursday. The doctor called on Saturday and sent him straight to the ER because his blood sugar was 490!

Apparently over the past year, he was getting pretty sick and we didn’t know it. Yes, he now has diabetes like many other people-most of them in fact-in my family. They’re all shocked at the high numbers he’s displaying. Imagine how I feel.

We’ve been dealing with doctors and hospitals for days now. On top of that, my son, who is a 2x bone cancer survivor, now has to go to an Oncologist because they’re seeing things that concern them that might indicate a recurrence. My only hope is that his poor body is so crapped out from past years of chemo and radiation, that the diabetes is stirring things up and throwing off other readings.

It’s not been fun folks. Not. Fun. Scary, yes.

Of course he immediately stopped his college way of eating and drinking insane amounts of sugary pops and juice. Sigh. He stopped. He’s exercising. He’s on insulin and pills, both. Because seriously, it’s bad. They’re hoping that by jumping on it aggressively, we can get a handle on it and roll back to pills only. He really, really, really wants to eat a good diet and try to deal with it that way-but it’s out of his hands for the moment. They’ve promised him they can try working in that direction, and he’s certainly motivated.

My siblings, all but one, have diabetes.My mom does, my dad died from it several years ago after losing his legs, eyesight and clarity of mind, one or more of the cousins have it. I don’t. And I don’t want to get it. Obviously.

The whole family is now on his diabetic diet. It’s a good, healthy diet. Seeing diabetes THIS close up? In my OWN family? I don’t want to ever, ever go down that road myself. If I can further ward it off by adopting the diet now, I’m doing it!

Things are a little crazy-inducing right now, as you can well imagine. My husband is out of town on business so it’s all me, all the time. And people-I don’t do this sickness stuff really well when it involves my children. He’s already had 6 years of invasive medicine in his short 26 years, and now he’s got a lifetime of disease ahead of him.

Why is it that so many of us don’t listen until it’s too late?

The good news in all of this is that in spite of having the worst work situations going on, and problems all around me, with no where to turn to deal with them, I am NOT eating to try and solve the problems. I’m just not. Shocks the pants off of me, but it’s about bloody time! I think that maybe I’m a grown up now. Maybe. Just maybe.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not good times here in the Johnson house

  1. Alma in Tx says:

    Hi Katie. I often stop by your blog and enjoy your pictures. I did not want to leave without saying, ‘Hang in there!’ You are going to do fine for you and your son. I’m glad the doctor took quick action in beginning to remedy your son’s high blood sugar. As the wife of a diabetic, I finally decided last year to take action before it’s too late, and started my husband and myself on a weight loss plan. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. amy says:

    oh! my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family! hang in there girl – and remember to have FUN too… life is too short to not laugh and have some fun, despite all the worry and stuff : ) laughter is sometimes the best medicine!! watch some funny movies and get a little silly with your son!! much love – amy

    • Awesome reply, Amy! In fact, we did just that last night. Watched a movie together. Today, things feel calmer. Blood sugar is slowly going down. He’s learning about the diet. We’re learning about the shots. Oye. It feels less terrifying this morning.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Katie,

    My sister was diagnosed with diabetes last year and my Dad also has it. When I was pregnant a few years ago my doctor watched it closely with me but thankfully I didn’t have it surface as an issue.

    You are setting a very good example for your kids and your weight loss is evidence that better health can be achieved through diet and exercise alone. Hopefully your son will not have too much of a struggle going forward and that with a little work he can keep things in balance also.

    Best wishes!

    Jennifer

    • Thanks, Jennifer. I do believe you’re right-when you set a good example for your family and don’t back off from it, it can make such a difference to the rest of your families health. Hmm. I should blog about that! (Lately I seem to get all my blogging ideas from the comments. LOL)

Say Hi!

