Bought size 12 jeans today-too small still

So here’s what a pair of size 12 jeans look like. Hmm.

They look normal size in this picture. Up close they look really teeny. Too teeny.

My size 14’s are getting too big but I’m still at LEAST 10 pounds away from a 12. Still, I like to buy one size ahead, when I’m getting close, so I can trick my all-too-easily-fooled-brain into pushing harder for “just a little while” so I can get into these bad boys. My legs and butt fit them great.

It’s my cursed stomach. Curse you, fat stomach! They’re 2″ from closing in the gut. Ah well. That’s one thing I have been noticing, at last-my stomach is starting to shrink down now. I was beginning to think that even if I lost down to the size of a fetus, my big belly would still be there. Now I’m thinking, maybe not.

So, guess what? Now you buy jeans almost like you order food off a menu. Boot cut, skinny jeans, curvy jeans, blah, blah, blah. I grabbed a half dozen pair of jeans. And it was an “interesting” experience, to say the least. Some styles look
like they’re painted onto your calves, on some, the waistband sits 3″ above your crotch! Yeah, I’m too old for that stuff. But
seriously, it was weird. I don’t know why I didn’t really get that.

Different people have different shapes so you need a wide variety of styles and cuts to fit those bodies. Honestly, I’m used to buying big old size 20’s and 22’s that are just “big” and they fit.

So this is a new world. It was surreal to go to the MIDDLE of the rack, the middle shelves, for the size 12’s. I felt like maybe
someone would scold me and ask, “What are you doing pawing through the size 12’s, you fool?”

Things like this freak me out. They shouldn’t maybe, but they do. I’m used to myself being a size 14. It took me 5 MONTHS to adjust my head to that. This is odd. It’s one of the reasons I wanted to buy them ahead of time.

I’m 5′ 9″. I was a size 12 when I got married 30 years ago. I was a size 12 ten years ago when I lost a ton of weight. As an adult, I’ve never been smaller than a 12. I’m thinking along the lines of getting comfortably into these 12’s and then stopping with the weight loss for another 6 months. That’s all I can see at this point. Too much.

Too much change. Ahhhhh!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bought size 12 jeans today-too small still

  1. Jennifer says:

    I can relate to much of what you said in this post. I, too, look at size 12 jeans and think ‘wow, those are sure small’ but happily discover that I must be about that size too! It’s weird to think that middle school must have been the last time I was in a size 12. Hopefully I will be approximately that size for the rest of my life. This process is much too tiring to repeat again.

    And, I (also) find myself questioning why I am looking in the middle of the racks and wondering if others are looking at me wondering the same thing. I guess I don’t fully see myself as needing middle-of-the-rack stuff, but I do! I still often think of myself as plus-size. I wonder if there are enough other things in my self-image that make me doubt that I deserve it?

  2. Fiona says:

    I’m so with you! I have exactly 1 pair of trousers and one pair of jeans that fit at the minute. I’m about 4lb away from the next size down (and yep its my squishy core that’s to blame). Everyone goes back to work/school tomorrow and goodness me am I going to focus on those FOUR pounds 🙂

  3. katiejohnsonwriter says:

    Jennifer and Fiona, it’s sooooo nice to know that other people get it!

  4. Carol says:

    Remember, a size 12 is just a number! When I was a teenager, a size 12 was a 34 inch bust, other measurements proportionate. When my mother was a teenager, according to patterns, a size 12 was a 30 or 32 inch bust. Sizes then started at 10 for ladies. (Look in any old catalog from the 30’s – 50’s) Now, according to Ann Taylor/Loft, a 12 is 38 1/2 bust, 31 waist, 41 hips. The expression used to be, the ideal was a perfect size 10. It was a gradual shift down to where we now have 1’s and zero sizes, even negative sizes, to appeal to women’s vanity. And now, some stores won’t carry over a 14 or 12. (This is also why sometimes people pass on the misinformation that Marilyn Monroe was a size 12, and thus “fat” — NOT!! — she was just a “size 12” of her day. ) So, yes, celebrate the weight loss and the size going down, as it shows you are getting healthier, but don’t get hung up on the number!
    And all the best to you in your efforts to get you and your family healthier.

    • Carol,
      You have give much for my brain to work on. Hmm. I’m going to think about that pretty hard.

      I think you’re saying some great things in your comment but my mind isn’t grasping it all yet. I literally want to write it all out myself, what you said, and sit there and think about it (yes, this IS an example of how hard and confusing all of this is to me! LOL) What you said about the size 1’s and zeros? That’s really interesting. I’ve wondered about that myself.

      Maybe I’ll measure myself and then look up what Marilyn Monroe’s measurements were. Just for kicks. You know, I often see those “before and after” pics of women who have lost just 15 pounds and have gone from being “womanly” to being muscular and tight and I usually think they looked better with a little cush. I know it’s about being healthy, for sure….but you bring up such a good point. WAS Marilyn Monroe fat? I think NO. What is fat? What is unhealthy? Maybe I should be more focused on that roll of fat around my stomach and not on getting into that size 12.

      See Carol? You’ve gone and fried my brain this morning-now I’m going to have to churn this around in my mind and see if I can come up with some clear thoughts.

      This is why I love communicating with other women who are on the weight loss track-because honestly, sometimes you’re so “INTO” it all, you can’t see the forest for the trees.

      FYI: I may have some questions for you. I may blog about this. Hmm.

Say Hi!

