Wednesday Weigh-in

Back to 204. What a lame thing the holidays are for the dieting world. 2 weeks after Christmas, I’m finally back to where I was. Sigh. I’m bound and determined to change the subheading at the top of my blog to “80 pounds lost”. I intend to get below 203 by next Wednesday if it’s at all possible so I can finally change that puppy.

I finished week 2, day 3 today of the Couch to 5k program, so on Friday I get to move to Week 3. A good thing, yes, but it means the running sections will be longer! That freaks me out at first, then I move past it. Still.

So, Anthony Bourdain in “No Reservations”: I’ve been thinking lately about the idea of eating BETTER but less. By that, I mean, there isn’t a lot of pleasure in being able to eat say, 3 cups of something because it’s low fat if you aren’t seriously enjoying it, you know?

When low fat came about, people started gaining a lot of weight. (Well, that and artificial sweeteners and the Fast Food that swept the nation.)

Anthony Bourdain truly appreciates food. I like that.

You’d think the guy would be huge with all he eats but I saw on one show how when he has to eat a big meal at night, he’ll just not eat breakfast and lunch. Not a smooth move, but you know what I mean? He eats a wide variety of foods, but he eats moderate amounts of that food and lets the camera/production crew swoop in and finish it up.

How this relates to the normal person? I’ve found lately that it’s so much more satisfying to my mind, to eat ONE egg, cooked in a 1/2 t. of butter and 1 slice of toasted homemade bread rather than say, 5 scrambled egg whites and two pieces of low calorie wheat bread. I mean-where is the FUN and enjoyment of eating? Eating is, I think, also supposed to be a pleasurable experience. Lately I’ve been thinking about a much more balanced approach to eating-eating less and enjoying it more.

The last time my husband and I went out for a green chile burger, last week, I took the top bun off, ate the huge burger and we shared the fries and left a lot behind. That was so much more satisfying than eating a LOT of a low cal, low fat food. Not that I do that either, but do you know what I mean?

You have to walk a fine line with food and practice moderation at all times. Which actually is easier, the healthier you get, because eating a lot just makes you flat out feel like crap.

I’m still paying the price for eating too much during the week of Christmas. It’s ridiculous that 2 weeks later, I’m back where I was. It feels like I “wasted” half a month, but in reality, I know that’s not the truth. You have to live life. You have to be IN this life. You have to move on.

In times like this, it feels like it’s never going to get better, I’m probably never going to move another ounce. I just have to look back at this past year and know that’s really not the truth. It’s hard to remember that you have to take the whole of the month—AS A WHOLE. Sometimes you lose 2 pounds in a week, sometimes nothing for 3 weeks.

If you could wave a magic wand and promise me that I’d lose 3 pounds every single month or 36 pounds in a year, would I be happy with that? Absolutely!

So I have to remind myself of that when it feels like things are creeping along-especially when things are creeping along because I’m “paying the price” for poor eating two weeks ago.

Where’s a time machine when you need it?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday Weigh-in

  1. Jennifer says:

    I like the idea of a time machine. 🙂

    Those little changes sure are frustrating, and I know exactly what you mean about feeling like you’ve “wasted” time getting back to the low point on the trending graph. I was just reviewing my stats for the previous collective 30 days and discovered that I actually lost three pounds. It’s not huge, by any means, but it covers a period of time where you only hope that you can maintain and not put on five or ten pounds. The holidays are hard! I’m happy with it.

    I wanted to comment on your statement about eating for enjoyment and how you’d rather, for example, eat one egg and one slice of homemade bread rather than more egg whites with more lo-cal bread…

    Part of me feels that way too — usually the part that wants to justify eating a piece of cake or hunk of chocolate. I tell myself that eating less of something is better and that I’d sacrifice quantity for quality so that I wasn’t giving up the treats I wanted. However, I’ve noticed that it is hard for me to eat for enjoyment. I’m seeing this process as so scientific and to-the-letter that I have a hard time enjoying food sometimes. (Not always, but sometimes.) And, because I tend to be a fast eater, having more of the lo-cal, diet type foods lets me feel like I am getting more and being occupied at the table for a longer period while the rest of my family eats. If I ate one egg, I’d have it swallowed down in about two bites (max) and then be staring at everyone else eating, still feeling hungry because the egg hadn’t kicked in yet. Except for those few occasions, I think I do better with having more to eat even if it is not as satisfying.

    I look forward to getting to that maintenance mode where I can add more calories back into my day and perhaps feel a little more satisfied with the flexibility that those additional calories will bring.

  2. Jennifer,
    I totally get what you mean. Totally. Sometimes I think, if it’s not one struggle, one week, it’s another the next week. In two weeks I’ll probably flip-flop and say that now I want LOTS of low cal, low fat food.
    Hey, lightbulb going off…maybe that’s the point! You have to be able to move in and out of how you’re feeling in any given time period and know when you can do the richer foods in moderation and when you CANNOT and you need lots of high quality food. Hmm. Interesting.

Say Hi!

