Starting a new week

We had a nice few days of Christmas fun. I never want to see another piece of chocolate. I think I ate a pound of chocolate before noon on Christmas day. I grabbed the rest and handed it out to everyone in the room because….too much is too much.

I’m not exactly sure how I was able to eat thousands and thousand of calories every day of my life for years and years. Today, it felt so good to get back to my normal eating.

So, that great iphone app? I bought it for $2.99. It’s called “Couch to 5k” and I love, love, love it! It’s so much easier to use than having to look at the clock on my phone every few seconds to see how long I’ve run, then try to decide-should I walk now? Too much thinking for me.

The app is set up for the new runner to run just THREE days a week, which is probably much healthier for me. (I say probably. but of course I KNOW that it’s true. I just don’t like taking my time with anything. It’s my curse.) I can walk the other days of the week.

The first week, the program wants you to walk for 5 minutes to start, then run for 60 seconds, walk 90 seconds, repeat for 20 minutes, then walk 5 more minutes to close down your workout with a cool down. After that, if you’re still a ways from home, just enjoy a longer walk.

Each successive week you run more, walk less, for longer time, still with a warm up and cool down. It’s totally doable!

The thing I like best about it is that a voice tells you: “Start running now.” So you run. No checking the time, so you don’t focus so much on the time, you tend to look around more and let the app be in charge. Pretty soon, the voice says, “Start walking now.”

Eventually the woman’s voice (or man) says, “Halfway point.”

I can’t tell you how much I love this app!!! At the end of the workout you can choose to share your success on Twitter and/or Facebook. It doesn’t report your time (which would be so humiliating for me.), it just says you did “Day 1 of week 1” etc. of the coach to 5k plan, which is cool.

Today I took completely off from exercise. Which feels weird. And it’s weird that it feels weird. I spent decades not exercising!

But alas, now I’m into a new way of life and I get wrapped around the axle when I can’t exercise. But-since I’m bumping up my exercise by running instead of walking, for at least 3 days a week, I seriously need to stop pushing so hard. This girl needs to gear down and rest sometimes. Sigh. I wish I didn’t have to. I want to go, go, go, go, about 20 hours a day in all directions. Patience and sitting around have never been my thing.

I have 2 days left to try and get my weight back down to 204. I’m NOT sure that’s going to happen. We’ll see. The day before Christmas, my MS flared up and I woke up 4 pounds heavier, right there. After an eating spree on Christmas, (about 2600 or so calories, hardly a disaster) this morning, that 4 pounds is still there-and it ain’t water. Well, I don’t know about that. It would be impossible to gain even a pound from an extra 1200 calories in just ONE day. 4 pound? Hmm. True or not, It’s 2 days later and it’s still here. NOT HAPPY.

Eh. I’m past caring about the science of these things. I’ll be at 204 or I’ll be at 206 on my Wednesday weigh-in. I don’t know. I’m not going to pull my hair out about it. I suppose the world won’t end if I’ve gained. Though in my house, my husband may wish it would, because I can get pretty pouty about stuff like that.

Thank goodness I only have to face this on Christmas and Thanksgiving, Fourth of July and maybe a few birthdays and vacation days each year. This is WAY too much stress and annoyance.

I envy my husband just eating what he wants, gaining a few pounds and getting back to normal eating-never weighing so he doesn’t get all freaked out about it.

Yeah, that’s not me.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting a new week

  1. Jennifer says:

    That app sounds great! I don’t have a fancy phone, so I don’t think I could use it, although it does sound like it would be very helpful. It has been awhile, but the last time I did try a C25K program, I was constantly staring at the time display on the treadmill and it was annoying. I’m sure it took away from the concentration I could have had on my footwork — or anything else for that matter!

Say Hi!

