Making Baked Seitan today!

Not feeling so hot today. I’m going to crawl back in bed and see if I can come back to life by noon. It looks like it’s going to be a “plan B” day.

I finally bought some vital wheat gluten so I can make seitan again. Jeff and I have been seriously missing this meat replacement! We love it more than meat, for sure. It’s just PACKED with protein too, so what a great way to get more protein into our diets without adding cholesterol.

The recipe I have posted here on my blog was originally from Post Punk Kitchen. I’ve tweeked the spices pretty seriously, to get them just the way we like it. It keeps for weeks in the fridge, months in the freezer and it doesn’t cost much to make.

So, later today, our Christmas vacation starts. Jeff gets off at 11 and then we have almost 2 weeks off. Sooo glad.

I’m working at staying on track to either maintain my weight this week or to lose at least a tiny bit. I want to come out of this week with a win. Not gaining, in a holiday week would be a big win. It would show ME that I can control the situation while still enjoying.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making Baked Seitan today!

  1. Judy says:

    I want to thank you for writing your blog. I enjoy it so much. The pictures are so nice too. May we both manage to at least stay the same this week.

    Judy

  2. Jennifer says:

    I meant to share a funny story with you… I had considered buying the ingredients to try your recipe. Later that night, I had a dream (which was more of a nightmare) about how I had struggled to make it and how it turned out so horribly rubbery that no one wanted to eat it. It bounched off walls and everything!

    I have never eaten this, nor even heard of it before I first read about it on your blog. The fact that you used the word rubbery I think made that image stick in my mind. Anyway, I do plan on trying it, so once I do, I’ll let you know whether reality matched my nightmare. I’m sure it will be at least edible, even though I’m the cook! 🙂

    I hope you had a nice Christmas!

    • Hee Hee! So funny, Jennifer. I used to make boiled seitan, which is what most people seem to eat. It was soooo gross. I guess that’s why I love it baked and dense like this. Yes, when you do try it, let me know what you think. I love that I can get a bunch of protein (which keeps me satisfied) without the fat and calories.

Say Hi!

