Good run today. 30 seconds at a time!

Alright! I took it easy today (Tuesday) and late this afternoon, decided to try going out for my run. I’ve tracked out a desert loop next to my house on the dirt roads, that’s exactly 3.25 miles, so it’s perfect for training for a 5K, giving me a bit of time to walk at the beginning and the end.

I’m so, SO glad I feel better this afternoon (I’m telling you, exercise, sunshine and good eating is like medicine to my body!). I decided to try something different on my run since I wasn’t at the peak of greatness (ha!) so I ran 30 seconds and walked 30 seconds, pretty much the whole way.

Sometimes on the uphills, I’d walk for a few minutes, occasionally I’d run a full minute at a time. I didn’t push it. As SOON as my head would say, “That’s enough!” I’d stop. I wasn’t tired or super winded, but I was feeling crappy. I’m seriously learning to listen to my body. My brain doesn’t want to stop, but my body does. That’s an important signal to pick up on.

I was surprised to see that today I did the 5k distance in 49:48, yesterday 48:14. That’s not that much of a difference, really. But today, on a day I wasn’t feeling all that great, I felt MUCH better at the end of my run than I did yesterday when I ran a full mile at once. Jeff Galloway is one smart guy.

I’m finding that when I feel BEST is when I’m running in the 12 min. pace race. Anywhere in the 12 minute range. It feels fast (to me) and not too hard. I seem to have about a 13:55 running pace, on average, 12 min. on sloping downhills. I think a 12 min. pace is a good goal.

*Calories: 1475
*Exercise: walked 3.25 miles slowly, Ran 3.25 miles: run 30 seconds, walk 30 seconds, sometimes run 1, walk 1. Total: 49:48 for 5k

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

