Ran a mile straight today!


I took a rest day yesterday, did a slow walk with the dogs. I’m glad I did, because now, part of my “master plan” is to time my 5k run on every Monday up through Feb. 11 so I can watch my improving time. (Isn’t that positive of me? That I’m sure I’m going to have an “improving time”?)

I got a new app on my iphone that actually works. With the old iphone, the GPS would always shut down when the phone idled, which made it utterly useless and drove me insane. I bought “Distance” by “Future Apps” for $2.99 and it works great with the 4g iphone, even if the phone is idling or gets a call.

I was able to track my pace: a pathetic 15 minute mile on average, but was also able to practice a faster foot turnover which is what increases your pace and also has been proven to seriously reduce injuries. Other than one bout of plantar fasciitis many years ago, I’ve never had a running injury. I always suspected it was because I take small steps with these uber long legs. Now I know that was true.

Anyway, I was able to watch my pace closely today and try doing a faster foot turnover to see how that would change my pace. It shifted my pace from the 15 min. range down to 12:33 to 13:20 or so, which really surprised me. It didn’t FEEL like I was going faster, just taking weirdly little steps. So, I’m going to play with that some more.

I’m going to take it easy the rest of the week, alternating between running and walking within a comfortable zone, using Monday’s run each week, to see how I’m improving.

I did the 5k in 48:11 today and I was SO happy with that! I know it’s so slow, but I figured I’d be coming in at at least 50 minutes, maybe way over 50 so I’m OK with that time as a beginning point! So now I have something concrete I can work on.

–have to bug out for the rest of the day to finish up Christmas shopping! I’ll do an update of exer/cal now and make SURE I stay in a good calorie range throughout the night.

*Calories: Have had 1049 as of 2:40 pm. Will have about 450 for dinner.
*Exercise: 3.1 mile run plus .20 miles of walk to cool down
-Later a 2 mile walk with the dogs

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ran a mile straight today!

  1. Jennifer says:

    That’s great! I believe I was somewhere around that mark when I first started out too. Unfortunately, I gave up on the 5K thing much too soon and never got down to the 30 minute goal I had for myself, but was considering anything under 45 minutes a win. 🙂

  2. Fiona says:

    Just dropping by to say the Yoga Immersion was great. Challenging physically and mentally but fired me up to do much much more. If I do part 2, I will go to a different venue (country!) so there will be no distractions (home, kids etc.) and a nice hotel room to chill in in the evenings 🙂 I’m also a slow runner – did my first 10k ‘race’ this month in 1hr 29. It was also a fantastic experience!

    • Fiona, that’s great! What country are might you go to if you go on to phase 2? Is it your goal to someday teach? I wish you had a blog!!!!!

      • Fiona says:

        I’m British but have been in Singapore with my family since 2003.
        It’s funny, I’m 43 and getting towards empty nest stage and looking at what I want to do in this next phase of my life 🙂 A lot of the students on the immersion were teachers/aspiring teachers, but at this stage I just want to ‘do’ yoga. I’ve just discovered ‘blogland’ and can get sucked in for hours – so I’m not too sure my own blog is a good idea! Well done on the running I’m another Galloway Gal….

  3. British and in Singapore? That’s SO not how I saw you! I was thinking you’re from the midwest of the USA. You’re a fascinating gal! How can you be British, living in Singapore and doing Yoga and not have a blog? It’s a travesty I tells ya, a total tragedy! Oh, the pictures you must have!!

Say Hi!

