My 4 mile run/walk in 6″ of snow

So, a funny thing happened. Yesterday when it rained all day, then turned into snow and snowed all day and night? I couldn’t go out and walk. So I stayed in and did a little yoga and cleaned up the garage.

I’ve been wanted to organize that garage for 2 years. Yesterday, I had the time. And last night? I was thinking. Hmm. I had TIME. Wow. That was interesting. I wonder what it would be like to have MORE TIME to do “stuff”.

I’ve been walking an insane amount of time each day, because in the winter, in Albuquerque, you can go out and walk ANY time of the day and it’s perfect. In the summer? Not so much. You really need to be out the door and walking by 7 or 8 or so because the temps can spike pretty high by 10 or 11. So I really suck up the walking in the wintertime.

Buuut…I’ve been doing a few minutes of running the past week and all of a sudden last night it occurred to me that if Yoga is now a heck of a lot easier for me than it was 50 pounds ago, I’ll bet running would be easier too!

When I was 40 I was a big time runner. Lived, ate and breathed running. I’d love to be there again. I’d love to “live” running. It sounds so, so, so awesome.

So, by this morning, I had decided. I’m cutting back on the walking and am going to run 4 miles every day starting back with the Jeff Galloway method: run a few/walk a few/repeat endlessly.

Since there was 6″ of snow on the ground, I pulled on hiking boots (!) and I did just that: I ran 2/walked 4 for 4 miles and I’ll tell you what-I haven’t had that much fun in YEARS!! I know I’ve given running a good shot a couple of times in this past year, but boy oh boy, was it easier than it was last winter when I was more than 50 pounds heavier. E-Z-R, I tells ya. Wow! It was just a pure pleasure.

My trainer, Pamela Hernandez, asked me today if I think a 5k might be a good goal for my future.

I’m thinking about that. I’ve done a lot of races in Washington state, from 5k to 7 miles and once, a trail run race in California along the coast for 8 miles or so. I guess I’ll have to really consider it, look at our travel schedule for this upcoming year, and see if there’s a race I’d like to participate in.

And of COURSE I want to do it. Sigh. I don’t know why I pretend that I haven’t decided. But still…..

I’m focusing on a 1 pound a week loss for the next 11 weeks. That’s my whole goal. I’m just going to do my best and work to make some great choices.

I’ve been having 2 scoops of protein (chocolate) blended in cold water with a little fruit and 2 ice cubes every morning when I wake up. I’ve been surprised to see how much better that makes me feel, overall. I have to remind myself at 11 or so, that I need to be thinking about lunch soon. I’ve been sorely lacking in protein lately-or maybe always, so this is a good thing.

Husband comes home tomorrow night. Yay!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

